or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Murray Introduces Bipartisan Annual Award Act for Classified School Employees


Location: Washington, DC

Today, U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) introduced the Annual Classified School Employee of the Year Award Act, which calls upon the Secretary of Education to establish a Classified School Employee of the Year Award Program to highlight the contributions of classified school employees in supporting the education of public school students in early childhood through higher education. Classified employees include those in the following specialties: paraprofessionals, clerical and administrative services, transportation services, food services, custodial and maintenance services, security services, health and student services, and technical services.
"As a mom and former preschool teacher, I know how critical classified employees are to good schools," said Senator Murray. "I am proud to join with my colleagues in introducing this legislation, which will highlight these exemplary employees who give so much to their professions, their schools, and their students."

Classified school employees provide essential services to America's public schools and institutions of higher education. As an integral part of the public education system, classified employees promote student achievement, ensure student safety, and contribute to the establishment and promotion of a positive instructional environment.

This legislation is cosponsored by Senators Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Al Franken (D-MN), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), and Chuck Grassley (R-IA).

Back to top