or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

House Reauthorizes E-Verify for Three Years


Location: Washington, DC

The House of Representatives today passed a bill to reauthorize E-Verify for three years. This successful, web-based program quickly identifies illegal immigrants working in the U.S. and protects jobs for legal workers. The bill, S. 3245, also reauthorizes the EB-5 Regional Center Pilot, the Conrad 30 J-1 Visa Waiver, and the Special Immigrant Nonminister Religious Worker Programs for three years. The bill passed by a vote of 412-3 and now heads to the President's desk for signature.

House Judiciary Committee Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) praised today's vote.

Chairman Smith: "The E-Verify program allows employers to electronically verify that newly-hired employees are authorized to work in the United States. The program is free, quick and easy to use. Nearly 400,000 American employers use E-Verify and over 1,000 new businesses sign up for it every week.

"The American public overwhelmingly supports E-Verify. Last year a Rasmussen poll found that 82% of likely voters "think businesses should be required to use the federal government's E-Verify system to determine if a potential employee is in the country legally.' E-Verify has also received bipartisan Congressional support in the past. In 2008, the House passed a five-year extension of E-Verify by a vote of 407 -- 2. And in 2009, the Senate passed a permanent E-Verify extension by voice vote.

"Ensuring that businesses have access to E-Verify will help preserve jobs for the 23 million Americans who are currently unemployed or looking for full-time work. I thank Senator Leahy and Senator Grassley for their leadership on this bill."

Back to top