or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Udall, Moran Call for Extension of Wind Energy Production Tax Credit

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Senators Mark Udall and Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) this week led 10 of their colleagues in requesting an extension of the wind energy production tax credit be considered in the Senate.

"The future of the American wind industry requires a stable tax environment in which to operate," the senators wrote. "If we are to expect wind energy to contribute to our country's future energy needs, Congress must quickly work to reauthorize the wind production tax credit before our wind production capabilities are damaged. We ask that you move quickly to extend the production tax credit."

According to the American Wind Energy Association, turbines, towers, and assembled nacelles are produced in more than 400 manufacturing facilities that employ tens of thousands of skilled American workers, including a Siemens nacelle manufacturing facility in Hutchinson, Kansas, and Vestas blades, nacelles and towers factories in Brighton and Pueblo, Colorado. Failure to extend the production tax credit will weaken this growing manufacturing sector and destabilize an industry shortly before it completes its transformation to being cost competitive in the marketplace.

"By extending this production tax credit, we must also be mindful of our country's current fiscal situation," the senators continued. "An extension of the wind production tax credit should provide for some long term stability while setting forth a path for how the wind industry can move towards a market-based system."

In addition to Udall and Moran, the letter was also signed by U.S. Senators Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Scott Brown (R-Mass.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), John Kerry (D-Mass.), John Thune (R-S.D.) and Jon Tester (D-Mont.).

Back to top