or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Chairman Hall Statement on Science Funding in Appropriations Bill


Location: Washington, DC

Today, Rep. Ralph M. Hall (R-TX), Chairman of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology applauded passage of the conference report on the Fiscal Year (FY) 2012 Commerce/Justice/Science (CJS) Appropriations bill, which was included in a package of bills that passed the House this afternoon by a vote of 298-121. The CJS appropriations prioritize funding for agencies and programs within the Science, Space, and Technology Committee's jurisdiction, while still cutting total discretionary spending.

Chairman Hall released the following statement:

I am very pleased with the passage of the final CJS conference report. While cutting total spending, the bill prioritizes critical investments in our nation's science agencies. I am extremely pleased that NASA funding reflects the importance of our nation's space program by minimizing cuts. NASA is a driver of innovation that strengthens our nation's industrial base and the overall economy. I congratulate the appropriators for recognizing the importance of NASA to our high-tech competitiveness.

Further, the conference report prioritizes basic research accounts at both the National Science Foundation and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

I am also pleased that the final agreement does not include funding to establish a new Climate Service at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Overall, I believe that this bipartisan agreement demonstrates the need for sustained federal investments in science that will ensure America remains a world leader in innovation."

Back to top