or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

National Taxpayers Union Endorses Buchanan "Sunshine Bill" for Debt Committee

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

The National Taxpayers Union (NTU) today endorsed Congressman Vern Buchanan's "Sunshine Bill" saying "openness and accountability in the legislative process is not an issue of politics, but a fundamental belief in good governance." Buchanan, R-Fla., recently introduced legislation in the House, H.R. 2796, to ensure the new bicameral super-committee will operate under the watchful eye of the public.

"The issues with which the Select Committee on Deficit Reduction will be dealing have the potential to affect far too many lives and wallets to be handled behind closed doors," said NTU in a letter addressed to every member of Congress. "NTU encourages you to work toward passage of H.R. 2796, which would ensure that the Committee's work is conducted in a transparent and accessible manner."

Founded over 40 years ago, the non-partisan National Taxpayers Union is a leading advocate for tax relief and eliminating wasteful spending.

"This is a pivotal point in our nation's history," said Buchanan. "In the past, massive legislative measures have been written in the middle-of-the-night by a handful of members and staff, and then quickly passed into law before the American people have a chance to even see what the final version looks like, let alone determine how they feel about it. This is not acceptable."

Buchanan previously sponsored a House resolution aimed at requiring all conference committee meetings on the health care reform bill be made open to the public. It was co-sponsored by 172 bipartisan members of the House.

Back to top