Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Iowa Federal Assistance Denied, Branstad Vows Appeal to FEMA

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Governor Branstad was notified late yesterday by Federal Emergency Management Agency Director Craig Fugate that Iowa's request for activation of the Federal Individual Assistance Program for Fremont, Harrison, Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury Counties has been denied.

"Obviously I am disappointed for the citizens in the impacted counties that my request was denied," said Gov. Branstad. "However, I intend to appeal this issue with FEMA based on the simple facts that the flood is still occurring and as the waters slowly recede, new damages will be revealed which will have further impacts to Iowans already fighting through this unprecedented flooding event."

The appeal of the decision by FEMA will be coordinated by the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD). HSEMD Administrator Brigadier General Derek Hill indicated that the Division will be working closely with the local emergency management agencies to determine additional damages and impacts caused by the ongoing flood.

"It is incredibly important to the citizens along the Missouri River that we are successful in this appeal," said Hill. "The aid provided in the Individual Assistance program is a major piece of the puzzle that is needed to help Iowans recover from this flood."

The FEMA Individual Assistance Program is made available to homeowners, renters and businesses and can include grants and low interest loans to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other aid programs.

Skip to top
Back to top