or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Letter to the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader, United States Senate, John Boehner, Speaker of the House, United States House of Representatives, Mitch McConnell and Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leaders, United States House of Representatives

U.S. Senator Kay R. Hagan (D-NC) today announced her support for bipartisan seating among Members of Congress during the State of the Union address next week. In the past, Democrats and Republicans have sat in partisan blocs. Hagan is signing a letter written by Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO) to Congressional leaders pushing for bipartisan seating.

"Each year, when Congress should be demonstrating its commitment to work together in the coming year to address our most pressing national challenges, Democrats and Republicans instead sit separately and reinforce the perception of constant partisan warfare in Washington, D.C.," Hagan said. "This year, it's time we stop this partisan seating arrangement and begin the year with a strong statement of unity. It's my belief that Democrats and Republicans must put aside partisan differences and work together to tackle the critical issues that face our nation. I'm hopeful that this year we will set a new, bipartisan tradition for the State of the Union."

January 12, 2011

Dear Majority Leader Reid, Speaker Boehner, Minority Leaders McConnell and Pelosi:

We, the undersigned members of Congress, believe that partisan seating arrangements at State of the Union addresses serve to symbolize division instead of the common challenges we face in securing a strong future for the United States.

As we all know, the tenor and debate surrounding our politics has grown ever more corrosive -- ignoring the fact that while we may take different positions, we all have the same interests. This departure from statesmanship and collegiality is fueled, in part, by contentious campaigns and divisive rhetoric. Political differences will always generate a healthy debate, but over time the dialogue has become more hateful and at times violent. But now the opportunity before us is to bring civility back to politics. It is important to show the nation that the most powerful deliberative bodies in the world can debate our differences with respect, honor and civility. We believe that it is not only possible, but that it is something that nearly all members of Congress truly desire. To that end, we suggest setting a small, but important, new tradition in American politics.

At the State of the Union address, on January 25th, instead of sitting in our usual partisan divide, let us agree to have Democrats and Republicans sitting side by side throughout the chamber. Beyond custom, there is no rule or reason that on this night we should emphasize divided government, separated by party, instead of being seen united as a country. The choreographed standing and clapping of one side of the room -- while the other side sits -- is unbecoming of a serious institution. And the message that it sends is that even on a night when the President is addressing the entire nation, we in Congress cannot sit as one, but must be divided as two.

On the night of the State of the Union address, we are asking others to join us -- House and Senate members from both parties -- to cross the aisle and sit together. We hope that as the nation watches, Democrats and Republicans will reflect the interspersed character of America itself. Perhaps by sitting with each other for one night we will begin to rekindle that common spark that brought us here from 50 different states and widely diverging backgrounds to serve the public good.

With respect and admiration,

Joe Manchin
John Carney
Michael Ross
Barbara Boxer
Kevin McCarthy
Laura Richardson
Mark Udall
Sanford Bishop
Benjamin Cardin
Olympia Snowe
Chellie Pingree
Michael Michaud
Joseph "Heath" Schuler
Kirsten Gillibrand
Ron Wyden
John "Jack" Reed
Stephen Cohen
Jim Matheson
Lisa Murkowski
Mark Begich
John McCain
Joseph Lieberman
Susan Collins
Amy Klobuchar
Claire McCaskill
E. Benjamin Nelson
Kelly Ayotte
Sheldon Whitehouse
Joe Manchin
Kevin McCarthy

Back to top