or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Congressman Scott Votes for Tough Iran Sanctions

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Last night, Congressman Scott voted for the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions, Accountability, and Divestment Act (H.R. 2194). He was appointed to the conference committee to reconcile the different House and Senate versions of H.R. 2194 and write the final bill.

"Iran's nuclear ambitions threaten stability in a volatile region, which would have world-wide implications," Congressman Scott said. The United States must not allow an authoritarian government to use nuclear threats to overpower their neighbors and spread their radicalism. Being a member of the conference committee on H.R. 2194 gave me a greater insight into the need for sanctions on this regime, and a greater hand in stopping Iran from obtaining nuclear weapons and securing our nation and the world."

In addition to adding sanctions on refined petroleum, the legislation vastly broadens the categories of sanctionable activities. For example, it imposes sanctions on foreign entities that sell Iran technology, services that help Iran develop its energy sector. The bill also sanctions foreign banks that deal with the IRGC or with other blacklisted Iranian institutions, including Iranian banks involved with WMD or terrorism. Foreign banks involved in such activities would be shut out of the US financial system; US banks would not be allowed to deal with them.

Congressman Scott is a member of the House Committees on Foreign Affairs and Financial Services, which both have jurisdiction over H.R. 2194. He is also a member of the US delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

Back to top