or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Republican House Members Applaud Progress of Iraqi Government

Location: Washington, DC

Republican House Members Applaud Progress of Iraqi Government

Washington, Sep 7 -

Republican House Members today applauded the continued progress of the Iraqi government on its path to full independence. Iraq today assumed full control of the Iraqi armed forces, putting the prime minister in direct control of the military.

"Today's transfer of the Iraqi military to direct Iraqi government control is a major step toward Iraq's full independence. Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki is committed to achieving a stable democratic society in Iraq. A competent military is essential for success.

"With two thirds of the Iraqi Army's combat units in the lead, we are encouraged that Iraqi Security Forces are assuming more responsibility for the security of their country. As these brave Iraqis continue to take the lead against those who seek to deprive their countrymen of the rights they have fought to secure, we will continue to stand with them.

"Success in Iraq is vital to world stability and security in the United States. Today's transfer is one step further to achieving victory in Iraq."

The following statement was released by Henry Brown (SC-01), Kay Granger (TX-12), Randy Kuhl (NY-29), Doc Hastings (WA-04), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), Phil Gingrey (GA-11), Sam Graves (MO-06), Reps. Joe Wilson (SC-02), Steve King (IA-05), Virginia Foxx (NC-05), John Carter (TX-31), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Gresham Barrett (SC-03), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Ander Crenshaw (FL-04), Mike Conaway (TX-11), Mike Pence (IN-06), Michael McCaul (TX-10) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-18).


Back to top