Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana Chamber of Commerce

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 43%
MT State House 3 Jerry O'Neil Republican 79%
MT State House 96 Carolyn Squires Democratic 50%
MT State Senate 2 Dee Brown Republican 69%
MT State Senate 5 Verdell Jackson Republican 92%
MT State Senate 9 Rick Ripley Republican 92%
MT State Senate 15 Jim Peterson Republican 100%
MT State Senate 16 Jonathan Windy Boy Democratic 38%
MT State Senate 23 Alan Olson Republican 100%
MT State Senate 32 Larry Jent Democratic 23%
MT State Senate 34 Scott Sales Republican 46%
MT State Senate 36 Debby Barrett Republican 100%
MT State Senate 38 Jim Keane Democratic 31%
MT State Senate 41 Christine Kaufmann Democratic 8%
MT State Senate 42 Dave Lewis Republican 77%
MT State Senate 48 Tom Facey Democratic 23%
MT State Senate 49 David Wanzenried Democratic 23%
MT Justice of the Supreme Court Seat 2 Mike Wheat Non-partisan 43%
MT Auditor Monica Lindeen Democratic 38%
MT Council Member Ward 1 Brent Cromley Democratic 50%
MT Public Service Commission Vice Chair Bob Lake Republican 92%
Joan Andersen 100%
Keith Bales 100%
Joe Balyeat 62%
Gregory Barkus 100%
Arlene Becker 31%
Bob Bergren 54%
Norma Bixby 18%
Jerry Black 100%
Gary Branae 38%
Roy Brown 92%
John Brueggeman 100%
Rosalie Buzzas 15%
Terrence Callahan 15%
Paul Clark 23%
John Cobb 50%
Vicki Cocchiarella 71%
Jill Cohenour 23%
Mike Cooney 43%
Aubyn Curtiss 93%
Sue Dickenson 23%
Tim Dowell 23%
Jon Ellingson 43%
Jim Elliott 43%
John Esp 100%
George Loren Everett 77%
Eve Franklin 31%
David Gallik 31%
Steven Gallus 31%
Kathleen Galvin-Halcro 15%
Kelly Gebhardt 100%
Kim Gillan 55%
George Golie 38%
Duane Grimes 93%
Gail Gutsche 8%
Kenneth Hansen 50%
Dan Harrington 57%
Christopher Kirk Harris 15%
Ray Hawk 77%
Hal Jacobson 38%
Joey Jayne 15%
Carol Juneau 8%
Bob Keenan 100%
Sam Kitzenberg 71%
Richard Laible 93%
Carol Lambert 92%
Michael Lange 85%
Jesse Laslovich 54%
Ralph Lenhart 100%
Rick Maedje 92%
Bruce Malcolm 77%
Jeff Mangan 57%
Gary Matthews 100%
Daniel McGee 100%
Joe McKenney 100%
Scott Mendenhall 100%
Penny Armstrong Morgan 100%
John Musgrove 31%
Mark Noennig 85%
Bernie Olson 100%
John Parker 31%
Gerald Pease 71%
Gary Perry 92%
Holly Raser 23%
Diane Rice 100%
Donald Roberts 100%
John Ross 85%
Glenn Roush 79%
Don Ryan 57%
Trudi Schmidt 43%
Jim Shockley 62%
John Sinrud 67%
Veronica Small-Eastman 31%
Frank Smith 23%
Corey Stapleton 100%
Donald Steinbeisser 92%
Ronald Stoker 77%
Robert Story, Jr. 100%
Bill Tash 100%
Kenneth Toole, Jr. 29%
Joseph Tropila 64%
Pat Wagman 100%
Karl Waitschies 100%
Bill Wilson 31%
John Witt 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top