or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 52%
Gary Ackerman 26%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 47%
Todd Akin 89%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 50%
Rodney Alexander 57%
Wayne Allard 87%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 33%
Rob Andrews 44%
Joe Baca, Sr. 41%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 89%
Brian Baird 41%
Richard Hugh Baker 96%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 33%
J. Gresham Barrett 71%
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 93%
Charlie Bass 89%
Max Baucus 80%
Evan Bayh 47%
Bob Beauprez 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 26%
Bob Bennett 86%
Shelley Berkley 52%
Howard Berman 26%
Marion Berry 48%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 47%
Judy Biggert 96%
Michael Bilirakis 93%
Jeff Bingaman 47%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 52%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 36%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 26%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 93%
Sherwood Boehlert 85%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 85%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 96%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 93%
Mary Bono Mack 93%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 96%
Leonard Boswell 41%
Rick Boucher 48%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 53%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 44%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 79%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 89%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 26%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 33%
Henry Brown, Jr. 96%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 33%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 73%
Ginny Brown-Waite 71%
Jim Bunning 87%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 100%
Conrad Burns 93%
Dan Burton 85%
Steve Buyer 96%
Robert Byrd 53%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 89%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 96%
Chris Cannon 89%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 92%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 58%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 48%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 37%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 37%
Dennis Cardoza 43%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 58%
Julia Carson 26%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 100%
Edward Case 57%
Mike Castle 70%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 67%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 50%
Ben Chandler III 33%
Chris Chocola 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 41%
Hillary Clinton 58%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 33%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 100%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 93%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 71%
Norm Coleman 75%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 93%
Kent Conrad 53%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 19%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 50%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 58%
Jerry Costello 48%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 80%
Robert Cramer 82%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 87%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 89%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 37%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 89%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 19%
Randall Cunningham 96%
Artur Davis 36%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 33%
James Davis 30%
Jo Ann Davis 96%
Lincoln Davis 64%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 39%
Thomas Davis III 93%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 50%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 33%
Bill Delahunt 41%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 33%
Thomas DeLay 100%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 93%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 67%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 71%
Norm Dicks 26%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 33%
Chris Dodd 40%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 33%
Elizabeth Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 79%
John Doolittle 89%
Byron Dorgan 53%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 37%
David Dreier 89%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 47%
Chet Edwards 48%
Vern Ehlers 96%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 43%
Jo Ann Emerson 85%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 33%
Philip English 89%
John Ensign 58%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 87%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 37%
Bob Etheridge 41%
Lane Evans 26%
Terry Everett 93%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 44%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 26%
Tom Feeney 71%
Russ Feingold 20%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
Michael Ferguson 92%
Bob Filner 26%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 65%
Mark Foley 85%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 96%
Harold Ford, Jr. 44%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 89%
Barney Frank 33%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 71%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 89%
William Frist 93%
Elton Gallegly 85%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 93%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 93%
Jim Gibbons 93%
Wayne Gilchrest 85%
Paul Gillmor 89%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 86%
Charlie Gonzalez 37%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 93%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 96%
Bart Gordon 59%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 96%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 87%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
Mark Green 89%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 33%
Judd Gregg 67%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 36%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 37%
Gilbert Gutknecht 93%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 96%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 47%
Jane Harman 54%
Katherine Harris 79%
Melissa Hart 92%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 19%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 87%
Robert Hayes 93%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 78%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 71%
Wally Herger, Jr. 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top