or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Democratic Action

2012 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 65%
Sandy Adams 5%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 90%
Todd Akin 5%
Rodney Alexander 0%
Jason Altmire 45%
Rob Andrews 85%
Steve Austria 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 65%
Roscoe Bartlett 15%
Charlie Bass 20%
Max Baucus 90%
Rick Berg 5%
Shelley Berkley 60%
Howard Berman 75%
Judy Biggert 10%
Brian Bilbray 10%
Michael Bilirakis 0%
Jeff Bingaman 95%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
Dan Boren 10%
Leonard Boswell 40%
Scott Brown 50%
Ann Marie Buerkle 0%
Dan Burton 0%
Francisco Canseco 0%
Eric Cantor 0%
Dennis Cardoza 30%
Russ Carnahan 75%
Ben Chandler III 40%
Hansen Clarke 95%
Kent Conrad 85%
Jerry Costello 60%
Chip Cravaack 0%
Mark Critz 55%
Geoff Davis 5%
James DeMint 0%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 5%
Norm Dicks 65%
Robert Dold 15%
David Dreier 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 10%
Barney Frank 100%
Elton Gallegly 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 65%
Frank Guinta 5%
Nan Hayworth 10%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
Maurice Hinchey 95%
Kathy Hochul 30%
Thomas Holden 50%
Duncan Hunter 0%
Kay Hutchison 10%
Daniel Inouye 90%
Tim Johnson 50%
Dale Kildee 90%
Larry Kissell 20%
Herb Kohl 85%
Dennis Kucinich 95%
Jon Kyl 0%
Jeff Landry 10%
Steve LaTourette 10%
Frank Lautenberg 90%
Jerry Lewis 0%
Joe Lieberman 80%
Dick Lugar 25%
Dan Lungren 0%
Connie Mack IV 10%
Don Manzullo 0%
Robert Matsui 95%
Thaddeus McCotter 5%
Brad Miller 90%
Sue Myrick 0%
Ben Nelson 80%
John Olver 95%
Ron Paul 35%
Todd Platts 15%
Ben Quayle 10%
Denny Rehberg 10%
Silvestre Reyes 70%
Laura Richardson 85%
David Rivera 5%
Mike Ross 30%
Steve Rothman 80%
Bobby Schilling 0%
Jean Schmidt 5%
Heath Shuler 45%
Olympia Snowe 50%
Pete Stark 85%
Cliff Stearns 10%
John Sullivan 0%
Betty Sutton 80%
Ed Towns 65%
Bob Turner 0%
Joe Walsh 30%
Mel Watt 90%
Jim Webb, Jr. 70%
Allen West 0%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Bill Young 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 85%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Mark Begich Democratic 85%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Michael Bennet Democratic 90%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 45%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 85%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 90%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 90%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
IA U.S. House 1 Bruce Braley Democratic 85%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 80%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 75%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 95%
DE U.S. House At-Large John Carney, Jr. Democratic 65%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 90%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 90%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 85%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 95%
RI U.S. House 1 David Cicilline Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 95%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 95%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 95%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 70%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 95%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 65%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 95%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 60%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 40%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 95%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 40%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 85%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 90%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 21 Ted Deutch Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 70%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 85%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 25%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 80%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 95%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 65%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 95%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 75%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 65%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 44 Janice Hahn Democratic 95%
HI U.S. House 1 Colleen Hanabusa Democratic 80%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 95%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 80%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 80%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 75%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 75%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 80%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 80%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 90%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 95%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 90%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 85%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 85%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 95%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 85%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 75%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 80%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 75%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 95%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 95%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 95%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 80%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 55%
IA U.S. House 2 Dave Loebsack Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top