Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Democratic Action

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 95%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 25%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 10%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 25%
Rodney Alexander 25%
Jason Altmire 80%
Rob Andrews 85%
Michael Arcuri 90%
Joe Baca, Sr. 90%
Michele Bachmann 0%
Spencer Bachus 20%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 20%
Brian Baird 80%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 5%
J. Gresham Barrett 5%
John Barrow 75%
Roscoe Bartlett 15%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 10%
Max Baucus 80%
Evan Bayh 70%
Melissa Bean 65%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 15%
Shelley Berkley 85%
Howard Berman 85%
Marion Berry 75%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 80%
Judy Biggert 35%
Brian Bilbray 15%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 30%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 90%
Tim Bishop 85%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 10%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 95%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 15%
John Boehner 0%
Kit Bond 20%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 15%
Mary Bono Mack 40%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 25%
Dan Boren 65%
Leonard Boswell 95%
Rick Boucher 80%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 20%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 75%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 10%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
Bruce Braley 90%
Paul Broun 0%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 95%
Henry Brown, Jr. 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 20%
Ginny Brown-Waite 35%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 50%
Jim Bunning 5%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 10%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 5%
Dan Burton 10%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100%
Steve Buyer 25%
Robert Byrd 55%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 15%
Dave Camp 20%
John Campbell III 5%
Eric Cantor 5%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 60%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 95%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 85%
Russ Carnahan 90%
Christopher Carney 85%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 85%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 75%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 5%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 90%
Mike Castle 65%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 95%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 15%
Saxby Chambliss 25%
Ben Chandler III 85%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 90%
Hillary Clinton 70%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 95%
Howard Coble 20%
Thomas Coburn 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 15%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 10%
Norm Coleman 45%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 5%
Kent Conrad 90%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 60%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 20%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 80%
Jerry Costello 85%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 95%
Larry Craig 15%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 15%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 10%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 80%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 5%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Artur Davis 85%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 80%
David Davis 15%
Geoff Davis 15%
Lincoln Davis 80%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 95%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 80%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 55%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 55%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 55%
Norm Dicks 90%
John Dingell 90%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 70%
Byron Dorgan 90%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 95%
David Dreier 10%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 15%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 80%
Vern Ehlers 40%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 100%
Brad Ellsworth 75%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 95%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 95%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Bob Etheridge 85%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 15%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 95%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 25%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 40%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 65%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 5%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 15%
Elton Gallegly 15%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 5%
Jim Gerlach 60%
Gabrielle Giffords 80%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 70%
Phil Gingrey 10%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 10%
Charlie Gonzalez 90%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 25%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 15%
Bart Gordon 80%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 15%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 5%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 25%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 80%
Judd Gregg 15%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 90%
Charles Hagel 10%
John Hall 95%
Ralph Hall 30%
Phil Hare 100%
Tom Harkin 95%
Jane Harman 95%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 95%
Doc Hastings 15%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 10%
NV U.S. Senate Jr Dean Heller Republican 25%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 5%
Wally Herger, Jr. 10%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top