or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Democratic Action

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 95%
Anibal Acevedo-Vila 0%
Gary Ackerman 95%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 10%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 90%
Todd Akin 5%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 10%
Rodney Alexander 60%
Wayne Allard 10%
George Allen 5%
Thomas Allen 95%
Rob Andrews 75%
Joe Baca, Sr. 85%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 10%
Brian Baird 95%
Richard Hugh Baker 5%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 100%
Cass Ballenger 5%
J. Gresham Barrett 10%
Roscoe Bartlett 20%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 5%
Charlie Bass 20%
Max Baucus 85%
Evan Bayh 75%
Bob Beauprez 5%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 95%
Chris Bell 90%
Bob Bennett 10%
Douglas Bereuter 15%
Shelley Berkley 85%
Howard Berman 85%
Marion Berry 85%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 75%
Judy Biggert 10%
Michael Bilirakis 5%
Jeff Bingaman 95%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 90%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 5%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 25%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 5%
Kit Bond 5%
Henry Bonilla 5%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 5%
Mary Bono Mack 10%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 10%
GU U.S. House Delegate Madeleine Bordallo Democratic 0%
Leonard Boswell 80%
Rick Boucher 90%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 70%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 10%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 10%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 45%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 95%
Henry Brown, Jr. 10%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 5%
Ginny Brown-Waite 10%
Jim Bunning 10%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 5%
Conrad Burns 10%
Max Burns 5%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 15%
Dan Burton 20%
Steve Buyer 10%
Robert Byrd 95%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 5%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 5%
Ben Campbell 30%
Chris Cannon 5%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 5%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 90%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 15%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
Dennis Cardoza 80%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 75%
Brad Carson 65%
Julia Carson 95%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 5%
Edward Case 95%
Mike Castle 40%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 10%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 65%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 5%
Chris Chocola 5%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 95%
Hillary Clinton 95%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 5%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 5%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 5%
Norm Coleman 15%
Michael Collins 5%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 45%
Kent Conrad 80%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 90%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 80%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 10%
Jon Corzine 90%
Jerry Costello 80%
Christopher Cox 5%
Larry Craig 5%
Robert Cramer 45%
Philip Crane 10%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 5%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 5%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 95%
Barbara Cubin 5%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 15%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 90%
Randall Cunningham 5%
Thomas Daschle 80%
Artur Davis 90%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 85%
Jo Ann Davis 15%
Lincoln Davis 75%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 90%
Thomas Davis III 5%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 90%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 5%
James DeMint 20%
Peter Deutsch 95%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 15%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 10%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 5%
Norm Dicks 90%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 85%
Chris Dodd 95%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
Elizabeth Dole 15%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 5%
Calvin Dooley 65%
John Doolittle 5%
Byron Dorgan 80%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 85%
David Dreier 5%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 15%
Jennifer Dunn 5%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
John Edwards 65%
Chet Edwards 80%
Vern Ehlers 15%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 95%
Jo Ann Emerson 10%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 95%
Philip English 20%
John Ensign 10%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Bob Etheridge 90%
Lane Evans 95%
Terry Everett 10%
AS U.S. House Delegate Eni Faleomavaega Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 95%
Tom Feeney 10%
Russ Feingold 95%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 90%
Michael Ferguson 0%
Bob Filner 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 5%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 25%
Mark Foley 5%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 10%
Harold Ford, Jr. 80%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 15%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 10%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 10%
William Frist 10%
Jonas Frost III 95%
Elton Gallegly 5%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 15%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 25%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 5%
Jim Gibbons 5%
Wayne Gilchrest 25%
Paul Gillmor 5%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 5%
Charlie Gonzalez 95%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 10%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 10%
Bart Gordon 75%
Porter Goss 10%
Daniel Graham 75%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 15%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top