or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Democratic Action

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Joseph Kennedy II 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
David Skaggs 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Louis Stokes 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 95%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
Thomas Allen 95%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 95%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 95%
Dale Bumpers 95%
William Clay, Sr. 95%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
Russ Feingold 95%
Bob Filner 95%
Elizabeth Furse 95%
Sam Gejdenson 95%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 95%
Maurice Hinchey 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 95%
Tom Lantos 95%
Frank Lautenberg 95%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 95%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 95%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 95%
Major Owens 95%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 95%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 95%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 95%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 95%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 95%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 90%
Jeff Bingaman 90%
Rod Blagojevich 90%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 90%
Julia Carson 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
Julian Dixon 90%
Chris Dodd 90%
Darlene Hooley 90%
Paul Kanjorski 90%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 90%
Dennis Kucinich 90%
Robert Matsui 90%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 90%
Martin Meehan 90%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 90%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 90%
Steve Rothman 90%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
Esteban Edward Torres 90%
Robert Wexler 90%
Albert Wynn 90%
Rob Andrews 85%
David Edward Bonior 85%
Rick Boucher 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 85%
Jerry Costello 85%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 85%
Victor Fazio 85%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 85%
Harold Ford, Jr. 85%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 85%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 85%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 85%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 85%
John LaFalce 85%
William Luther 85%
John Moakley 85%
Donald Payne 85%
Glenn Poshard 85%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 85%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 85%
Ellen Tauscher 85%
Ed Towns 85%
Gary Ackerman 80%
Howard Berman 80%
Walter Holden Capps 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
Ronald Dellums 80%
Peter Deutsch 80%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 80%
Byron Dorgan 80%
Thomas Foglietta 80%
Jonas Frost III 80%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 80%
John Glenn 80%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 80%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 80%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 80%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 80%
Patrick Kennedy 80%
Dale Kildee 80%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 80%
Karen McCarthy 80%
Michael McNulty 80%
Carrie Meek 80%
Carol Moseley Braun 80%
Jim Oberstar 80%
Dave Obey 80%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 80%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 80%
Vic Snyder 80%
Bart Stupak 80%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 80%
Robert Torricelli 80%
Bob Wise, Jr. 80%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 75%
Marion Berry 75%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 75%
Robert Borski, Jr. 75%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 75%
James Davis 75%
Wendell Ford 75%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 75%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 75%
Ernest Hollings 75%
Daniel Inouye 75%
William Jefferson 75%
Jay Johnson 75%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 75%
Bob Kerrey 75%
Nicholas Lampson 75%
Joe Lieberman 75%
James Maloney 75%
Thomas Manton 75%
Paul McHale 75%
Ciro Rodriguez 75%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 75%
Ted Strickland 75%
Karen Thurman 75%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 70%
Richard Bryan 70%
Robert Byrd 70%
Norm Dicks 70%
Tony Hall 70%
Gerald Kleczka 70%
Herb Kohl 70%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 70%
Matthew Martinez 70%
David Minge 70%
Alan Mollohan 70%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 70%
Earl Pomeroy 70%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top