State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 8%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 8%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 15%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 88%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 8%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 92%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100%
CA U.S. House-45 John Campbell III R 8%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 83%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 97%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 17%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 100%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 6%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 11%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 100%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 94%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 17%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 14%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 96%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 96%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 100%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 14%
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 86%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 19%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 15%
Richard Ackerman 8%
Gregory Aghazarian 17%
Richard Alarcón 92%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 61%
Roy Ashburn 19%
James Battin 19%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 97%
Sam Blakeslee 6%
Russell Bogh 17%
Joseph Canciamilla 100%
Edward Chavez 97%
Rebecca Cohn 97%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 8%
Lynn Daucher 25%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Charles DeVore 17%
Denise Ducheny 92%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 15%
Mervyn Dymally 97%
Bill Emmerson 22%
Martha Escutia 81%
Liz Figueroa 96%
Dean Florez 50%
Dario Frommer 97%
Bonnie Garcia 33%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 17%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 8%
Dennis Hollingsworth 12%
Jerome Horton 92%
Shirley Horton 25%
Guy Houston 17%
Betty Karnette 97%
Richard Keene 6%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 6%
Robert Leslie 11%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 97%
Michael Machado 88%
Abel Maldonado 35%
Bob Margett 8%
Barbara Matthews 83%
Bill Maze 11%
Carole Migden 96%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 19%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 19%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 77%
Joseph Nation 97%
Pedro Nava 100%
Roger Niello 17%
Fabian Núñez 97%
Jenny Oropeza 94%
Deborah Ortiz 96%
Nicole Parra 64%
Don Perata 96%
George Plescia 11%
Charles Poochigian 8%
Keith Stuart Richman 42%
Gloria Romero 92%
George Runner, Jr. 12%
Sharon Runner 11%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 94%
Jack Scott 92%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 17%
Alberto Torrico 94%
Van Tran 22%
Thomas Umberg 83%
Mike Villines 8%
Edward Vincent 96%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.