or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Federation of Independent Business

2005-2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Mark Green 93%
Melissa Hart 93%
Robert Hayes 93%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 93%
Wally Herger, Jr. 93%
Henry Hyde 93%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 93%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 93%
William Lewis Jenkins 93%
John Kuhl, Jr. 93%
Jerry Lewis 93%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 93%
Dan Lungren 93%
Don Manzullo 93%
Anne Northup 93%
John Peterson 93%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 93%
Ralph Regula 93%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 93%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 93%
Donald Sherwood 93%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 93%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 93%
John Sullivan 93%
Charles Taylor 93%
Todd Tiahrt 93%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 93%
Gerald Weller 93%
Bill Young 93%
Ginny Brown-Waite 92%
Robert Cramer 92%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 92%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 92%
Gilbert Gutknecht 92%
David Lee Hobson 92%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 92%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 89%
Norm Coleman 89%
Larry Craig 89%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 89%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 89%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 89%
Rick Santorum 88%
Jean Schmidt 88%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 88%
Charlie Bass 86%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 86%
Mike Castle 86%
John Doolittle 86%
Chet Edwards 86%
Vern Ehlers 86%
Michael Ferguson 86%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 86%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 86%
Nancy Johnson 86%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 86%
Sue Kelly 86%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 86%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 86%
Ray LaHood 86%
Steve LaTourette 86%
UT U.S. House 4 Jim Matheson Democratic 86%
John McHugh 86%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 86%
Todd Platts 86%
James Ramstad 86%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 86%
John Schwarz 86%
Arlen Specter 86%
John Sweeney 86%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 86%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 86%
Mark Foley 85%
Wayne Gilchrest 85%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 85%
Ron Paul 83%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 80%
Bart Gordon 79%
Tim Johnson 79%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 79%
Jim Marshall 79%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 79%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 79%
James Walsh 79%
W. Curtis Weldon 79%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 78%
George Voinovich 78%
James Leach 77%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 77%
Christopher Shays 75%
Sherwood Boehlert 71%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 71%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 71%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 71%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 71%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 71%
Jim Saxton 71%
John Tanner 71%
Albert Wynn 71%
Ben Nelson 67%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 64%
Melissa Bean 64%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 64%
Dennis Cardoza 64%
Harold Ford, Jr. 64%
CO Commissioner of Agriculture John Salazar No Party Affiliation 64%
Gene Taylor 64%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 57%
Charlie Melancon, Sr. 57%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 57%
Ike Skelton 57%
Edward Case 54%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 50%
Mike Ross 50%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 46%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 44%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 44%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 44%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 44%
Blanche Lincoln 44%
Brian Baird 43%
Marion Berry 43%
Jerry Costello 43%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 43%
Max Baucus 38%
Jane Harman 38%
Rick Boucher 36%
Ben Chandler III 36%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 36%
Artur Davis 36%
Charlie Gonzalez 36%
Thomas Holden 36%
Darlene Hooley 36%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 36%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 36%
Alan Mollohan 36%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 36%
Earl Pomeroy 36%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 36%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 36%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 36%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 36%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 36%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 33%
Shelley Berkley 33%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 33%
Ken Salazar 33%
Ed Towns 33%
William Jefferson 31%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Joe Baca, Sr. 29%
Kent Conrad 29%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 29%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 29%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 29%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 29%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 29%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 29%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 29%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 25%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 25%
James Merrill Jeffords 25%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 25%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 23%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 23%
Bart Stupak 23%
Ellen Tauscher 23%
David Wu 23%
Evan Bayh 22%
Jeff Bingaman 22%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 22%
James Davis 22%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 22%
Herb Kohl 22%
AR U.S. Senate Sr Mark Pryor Democratic 22%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 22%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 21%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 21%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 21%
Bill Delahunt 21%
Norm Dicks 21%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 21%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 21%
Bob Filner 21%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 21%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 21%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 21%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 21%
Michael McNulty 21%
Kendrick Meek, Sr. 21%
ME U.S. House 2 Mike Michaud Democratic 21%
Dennis Moore 21%
Jack Murtha 21%
Steve Rothman 21%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 21%
Vic Snyder 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top