or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Connecticut AFL-CIO

1994 Lifetime Score

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Frederick Gelsi 93%
CT State House 85 Mary Mushinsky Democratic 92%
David Pudlin 92%
Thomas Ritter 92%
Ernest Newton II 91%
CT State House 110 Bob Godfrey Democratic 89%
Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey 89%
John Joseph Lescoe 88%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 86%
William Dyson 86%
Michael Lawlor 86%
John Thompson 85%
CT Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman Democratic 85%
CT State House 92 Patricia Dillon Democratic 84%
Wade Hyslop, Jr. 84%
Alex Knopp 84%
Richard Tulisano 84%
CT State Senate 2 Eric Coleman Democratic 83%
Americo Santiago 83%
Christel Truglia 83%
James Maloney 82%
Reginald Beamon 81%
CT State House 121 Terrance Backer Democratic 80%
Annette Wheeler Carter 80%
Nancy DeMarinis 80%
Christopher Donovan 80%
CT State Senate 6 Terry Gerratana Democratic 80%
James O'Rourke III 80%
Cameron Staples 80%
William DiBella 79%
Angelo Fusco 79%
CT State Senate 15 Joan Hartley Democratic 79%
Moira Lyons 79%
Sammy Samowitz 79%
Konstantinos Diamantis 78%
CT Mayor At-Large Toni Harp Democratic 78%
Melodie Peters 78%
CT State House 33 Joseph Serra Democratic 78%
John Betkoski III 75%
Ilia Castro 75%
CT State House 115 Stephen Dargan Democratic 75%
CT State Senate 1 John Fonfara Democratic 75%
CT Secretary of State Denise Merrill Democratic, Working Families 75%
John Wayne Fox 74%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 74%
Thomas Conway, Sr. 73%
CT State House 90 Mary Fritz Democratic 73%
Jacqueline Cocco 72%
CT Commissioner of Revenue Kevin Sullivan Democratic 71%
Nancy Farwell Beals 70%
Susan Bysiewicz 70%
Melody Currey 70%
Jefferson Davis 70%
Patrick Flaherty 70%
Edward Graziani 70%
CT Alderman Ward 4 Andrea Jackson-Brooks Democratic 70%
Robert Keeley, Jr. 70%
CT State House 139 Kevin Ryan Democratic 70%
Lenny Winkler 70%
James McCavanagh 69%
CT Mayor At-Large Peter Nystrom Republican 69%
Carl Schiessl 69%
Ann Dandrow 67%
Edna Garcia 67%
CT Attorney General George Jepsen Democratic, Working Families 67%
Donnie Sellers, Sr. 67%
CT State Senate 20 Andrea Stillman Democratic 67%
Vincent Tonucci 67%
Jessie Stratton 66%
Christopher Caruso 65%
Chris Anthony DePino 65%
Anne McDonald 65%
John Mordasky 62%
Thomas Upson 62%
Donald Boughton III 60%
Terry Concannon 60%
CT State House 116 Lou Esposito, Jr. Democratic 60%
Edwin Garcia 60%
CT State Senate 3 Gary LeBeau Democratic 60%
Mary Ann O'Sullivan 60%
Ellen Scalettar 60%
Howard Scipio 60%
Peter Villano 60%
Stephen Jarmoc 56%
CT State Senate 11 Martin Looney Democratic 56%
Winthrop Smith, Jr. 56%
James Amann 55%
William Aniskovich 53%
Judith Freedman 53%
Paul Munns 53%
Fred Lovegrove, Jr. 51%
Mary Eberle 50%
CT State Senate 7 John Kissel Republican 50%
William Nickerson 50%
Gary Orefice 50%
Brian Flaherty 46%
Michael Caron 45%
CT State Senate 17 Joseph Crisco, Jr. Democratic 44%
Eileen Daily 44%
Robert Genuario 44%
CT State Senate 35 Anthony Guglielmo Republican 44%
Alvin Penn 44%
CT State Senate 29 Donald Williams, Jr. Democratic 44%
J.Vincent Chase 43%
Andrew McCall Norton 43%
Kevin Ferguson Rennie 43%
Robert Ward 43%
Josephine Fuchs 42%
Angelina Scarpetti 42%
CT State House 76 John Piscopo Republican 41%
Dale Radcliffe 41%
Jodi Rell 40%
Richard Roy 40%
M. Adela Dell' Eads 39%
Raymond Collins 38%
James Fleming 38%
Mary McGrattan 38%
Norma Gyle 37%
Robert Maddox, Jr. 37%
Robert Farr 36%
George Gunther 36%
Sidney Holbrook 36%
William Varese 34%
Michael Jarjura 33%
Janet Lockton 30%
Peter Metz 30%
CT State House 69 Arthur O'Neill Republican 29%
Ruth Fahrbach 26%
Richard Belden 25%
Richard Ferrari 25%
F. Prelli 25%
Anthony Tercyak 25%
Catherine Cook 22%
Barry Kolar 22%
CT State House 45 Steve Mikutel Democratic 22%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 22%
Curtis Dickerman Andrews, Jr. 21%
Lawrence Miller 21%
Dennis Cleary 20%
Louis DeLuca 20%
Michael Fedele 20%
Marilyn Ann Hess 20%
Paul Knierim 20%
Brian Edward Mattiello 20%
Julia Wasserman 16%
Timothy Barth 10%
Dominic Andrew Buonocore 10%
CT State House 142 Larry Cafero, Jr. Republican 10%
Lucien DiMeo 10%
Jeanne Garvey 10%
Dom Mazzoccoli 10%
Ronald San Angelo 10%
CT State House 55 Pam Sawyer Republican 10%
Claudia Powers 0%
John Stripp 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top