or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Connecticut AFL-CIO

1994 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Wade Hyslop, Jr. 89%
Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey 89%
Ernest Newton II 86%
CT State House 121 Terrance Backer Democratic 80%
CT State House 115 Stephen Dargan Democratic 80%
Nancy DeMarinis 80%
Christopher Donovan 80%
CT State Senate 6 Terry Gerratana Democratic 80%
James O'Rourke III 80%
David Pudlin 80%
Americo Santiago 80%
Cameron Staples 80%
Konstantinos Diamantis 78%
William Dyson 78%
CT State House 110 Bob Godfrey Democratic 78%
CT Mayor At-Large Toni Harp Democratic 78%
CT State House 85 Mary Mushinsky Democratic 78%
Melodie Peters 78%
CT State House 33 Joseph Serra Democratic 78%
Christel Truglia 78%
Ilia Castro 75%
CT Secretary of State Denise Merrill Democratic, Working Families 75%
Nancy Farwell Beals 70%
Susan Bysiewicz 70%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 70%
Melody Currey 70%
Jefferson Davis 70%
Patrick Flaherty 70%
CT Alderman Ward 4 Andrea Jackson-Brooks Democratic 70%
Robert Keeley, Jr. 70%
CT State House 139 Kevin Ryan Democratic 70%
John Thompson 70%
CT Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman Democratic 70%
Edna Garcia 67%
James Maloney 67%
Donnie Sellers, Sr. 67%
CT State Senate 20 Andrea Stillman Democratic 67%
Donald Boughton III 60%
Christopher Caruso 60%
Terry Concannon 60%
Chris Anthony DePino 60%
CT State House 92 Patricia Dillon Democratic 60%
CT State House 116 Lou Esposito, Jr. Democratic 60%
Edwin Garcia 60%
Edward Graziani 60%
Alex Knopp 60%
Michael Lawlor 60%
John Joseph Lescoe 60%
Anne McDonald 60%
Mary Ann O'Sullivan 60%
Thomas Ritter 60%
Sammy Samowitz 60%
Ellen Scalettar 60%
Howard Scipio 60%
Peter Villano 60%
Frederick Gelsi 57%
Annette Wheeler Carter 56%
Stephen Jarmoc 56%
CT State Senate 11 Martin Looney Democratic 56%
Winthrop Smith, Jr. 56%
James Amann 50%
Reginald Beamon 50%
CT State Senate 2 Eric Coleman Democratic 50%
Mary Eberle 50%
CT State Senate 7 John Kissel Republican 50%
CT State Senate 3 Gary LeBeau Democratic 50%
Moira Lyons 50%
Gary Orefice 50%
Jessie Stratton 50%
Jacqueline Cocco 44%
CT State Senate 17 Joseph Crisco, Jr. Democratic 44%
Eileen Daily 44%
William DiBella 44%
CT State Senate 1 John Fonfara Democratic 44%
CT State House 90 Mary Fritz Democratic 44%
CT State Senate 35 Anthony Guglielmo Republican 44%
CT Attorney General George Jepsen Democratic, Working Families 44%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 44%
Alvin Penn 44%
CT Commissioner of Revenue Kevin Sullivan Democratic 44%
Richard Tulisano 44%
CT State Senate 29 Donald Williams, Jr. Democratic 44%
John Betkoski III 40%
John Mordasky 40%
Richard Roy 40%
Carl Schiessl 40%
Lenny Winkler 40%
Mary McGrattan 38%
William Aniskovich 33%
Judith Freedman 33%
Robert Genuario 33%
CT State Senate 15 Joan Hartley Democratic 33%
Michael Jarjura 33%
Fred Lovegrove, Jr. 33%
Thomas Upson 33%
Thomas Conway, Sr. 30%
Angelo Fusco 30%
James McCavanagh 30%
Peter Metz 30%
Vincent Tonucci 30%
Anthony Tercyak 25%
Catherine Cook 22%
Louis DeLuca 22%
M. Adela Dell' Eads 22%
James Fleming 22%
John Wayne Fox 22%
George Gunther 22%
Barry Kolar 22%
CT State House 45 Steve Mikutel Democratic 22%
William Nickerson 22%
Angelina Scarpetti 22%
Michael Caron 20%
Dennis Cleary 20%
Ann Dandrow 20%
Michael Fedele 20%
Marilyn Ann Hess 20%
Brian Edward Mattiello 20%
Andrew McCall Norton 20%
CT Mayor At-Large Peter Nystrom Republican 13%
Timothy Barth 10%
Dominic Andrew Buonocore 10%
CT State House 142 Larry Cafero, Jr. Republican 10%
J.Vincent Chase 10%
Lucien DiMeo 10%
Robert Farr 10%
Richard Ferrari 10%
Brian Flaherty 10%
Jeanne Garvey 10%
Janet Lockton 10%
Dom Mazzoccoli 10%
Paul Munns 10%
CT State House 69 Art O'Neill Republican 10%
F. Prelli 10%
Jodi Rell 10%
Kevin Ferguson Rennie 10%
Ronald San Angelo 10%
CT State House 55 Pam Sawyer Republican 10%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 10%
William Varese 10%
Julia Wasserman 10%
Curtis Dickerman Andrews, Jr. 0%
Richard Belden 0%
Raymond Collins 0%
Ruth Fahrbach 0%
Josephine Fuchs 0%
Norma Gyle 0%
Sidney Holbrook 0%
Paul Knierim 0%
Robert Maddox, Jr. 0%
Lawrence Miller 0%
CT State House 76 John Piscopo Republican 0%
Claudia Powers 0%
Dale Radcliffe 0%
John Stripp 0%
Robert Ward 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top