or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Connecticut AFL-CIO

1994 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
James Amann 50%
Curtis Dickerman Andrews, Jr. 0%
William Aniskovich 33%
Timothy Barth 10%
Nancy Farwell Beals 70%
Reginald Beamon 50%
Richard Belden 0%
John Betkoski III 40%
Donald Boughton III 60%
Dominic Andrew Buonocore 10%
Susan Bysiewicz 70%
Michael Caron 20%
Annette Wheeler Carter 56%
Christopher Caruso 60%
Ilia Castro 75%
J.Vincent Chase 10%
Dennis Cleary 20%
Jacqueline Cocco 44%
Raymond Collins 0%
Terry Concannon 60%
Thomas Conway, Sr. 30%
Catherine Cook 22%
Melody Currey 70%
Eileen Daily 44%
Ann Dandrow 20%
Jefferson Davis 70%
Louis DeLuca 22%
Nancy DeMarinis 80%
Chris Anthony DePino 60%
Konstantinos Diamantis 78%
William DiBella 44%
Lucien DiMeo 10%
Christopher Donovan 80%
William Dyson 78%
M. Adela Dell' Eads 22%
Mary Eberle 50%
Ruth Fahrbach 0%
Robert Farr 10%
Michael Fedele 20%
Richard Ferrari 10%
Brian Flaherty 10%
Patrick Flaherty 70%
James Fleming 22%
John Wayne Fox 22%
Judith Freedman 33%
Josephine Fuchs 0%
Angelo Fusco 30%
Edna Garcia 67%
Edwin Garcia 60%
Jeanne Garvey 10%
Frederick Gelsi 57%
Robert Genuario 33%
Edward Graziani 60%
George Gunther 22%
Norma Gyle 0%
Marilyn Ann Hess 20%
Sidney Holbrook 0%
Wade Hyslop, Jr. 89%
Michael Jarjura 33%
Stephen Jarmoc 56%
Robert Keeley, Jr. 70%
Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey 89%
Paul Knierim 0%
Alex Knopp 60%
Barry Kolar 22%
Michael Lawlor 60%
John Joseph Lescoe 60%
Janet Lockton 10%
Fred Lovegrove, Jr. 33%
Moira Lyons 50%
Robert Maddox, Jr. 0%
James Maloney 67%
Brian Edward Mattiello 20%
Dom Mazzoccoli 10%
James McCavanagh 30%
Anne McDonald 60%
Mary McGrattan 38%
Peter Metz 30%
Lawrence Miller 0%
John Mordasky 40%
Paul Munns 10%
Ernest Newton II 86%
William Nickerson 22%
Andrew McCall Norton 20%
Gary Orefice 50%
James O'Rourke III 80%
Mary Ann O'Sullivan 60%
Alvin Penn 44%
Melodie Peters 78%
Claudia Powers 0%
F. Prelli 10%
David Pudlin 80%
Dale Radcliffe 0%
Jodi Rell 10%
Kevin Ferguson Rennie 10%
Thomas Ritter 60%
Richard Roy 40%
Sammy Samowitz 60%
Ronald San Angelo 10%
Americo Santiago 80%
Ellen Scalettar 60%
Angelina Scarpetti 22%
Carl Schiessl 40%
Howard Scipio 60%
Donnie Sellers, Sr. 67%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 10%
Winthrop Smith, Jr. 56%
Cameron Staples 80%
Jessie Stratton 50%
John Stripp 0%
Anthony Tercyak 25%
John Thompson 70%
Vincent Tonucci 30%
Christel Truglia 78%
Richard Tulisano 44%
Thomas Upson 33%
William Varese 10%
Peter Villano 60%
Robert Ward 0%
Julia Wasserman 10%
Lenny Winkler 40%
CT State House 121 Terrance Backer Democratic 80%
CT State Senate 2 Eric Coleman Democratic 50%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 70%
CT State Senate 17 Joseph Crisco, Jr. Democratic 44%
CT State House 115 Stephen Dargan Democratic 80%
CT State House 92 Patricia Dillon Democratic 60%
CT State House 116 Lou Esposito, Jr. Democratic 60%
CT State Senate 1 John Fonfara Democratic 44%
CT State House 90 Mary Fritz Democratic 44%
CT State Senate 6 Theresa Bielinski Gerratana Democratic 80%
CT State House 110 Bob Godfrey Democratic 78%
CT Mayor At-Large Toni Harp Democratic 78%
CT State Senate 15 Joan Hartley Democratic 33%
CT Alderman Ward 4 Andrea Jackson-Brooks Democratic 70%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 44%
CT State Senate 3 Gary LeBeau Democratic 50%
CT State Senate 11 Martin Looney Democratic 56%
CT State House 45 Steve Mikutel Democratic 22%
CT State House 85 Mary Mushinsky Democratic 78%
CT State House 139 Kevin Ryan Democratic 70%
CT State House 33 Joseph Serra Democratic 78%
CT State Senate 20 Andrea Stillman Democratic 67%
CT Commissioner of Revenue Kevin Sullivan Democratic 44%
CT State Senate 29 Donald Williams, Jr. Democratic 44%
CT Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman Democratic 70%
CT Attorney General George Jepsen Democratic, Working Families 44%
CT Secretary of State Denise Merrill Democratic, Working Families 75%
CT State House 142 Lawrence Cafero, Jr. Republican 10%
CT State Senate 35 Anthony Guglielmo Republican 44%
CT State Senate 7 John Kissel Republican 50%
CT Mayor At-Large Peter Nystrom Republican 13%
CT State House 69 Arthur O'Neill Republican 10%
CT State House 76 John Piscopo Republican 0%
CT State House 55 Pam Sawyer Republican 10%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top