or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Virginia AFL-CIO

2005 Lifetime Score

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 62%
Kristen Amundson 92%
Ward Armstrong 91%
Clifford Athey, Jr. 11%
William Barlow 78%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 100%
J. Brandon Bell II 25%
Harry Blevins 37%
Bill Bolling 11%
L. Bryant, Jr. 32%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 53%
John Chichester 29%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 57%
Ken Cuccinelli II 0%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 40%
James Hardy Dillard II 63%
Allen Wayne Dudley 18%
Albert Eisenberg 75%
William Fralin, Jr. 25%
Jeffrey Frederick 0%
Thomas Gear 22%
Franklin Hall 83%
Phillip Hamilton 44%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 39%
Charles Hawkins 30%
Clarke Hogan 22%
Edd Houck 88%
Robert Hull 95%
Bill Janis 22%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 88%
W.B. Keister 93%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 90%
Allen Louderback 13%
Bradley Marrs 11%
Joe May 32%
Bob McDonnell 24%
Michéle McQuigg 40%
Kenneth Melvin 91%
Floyd Miles, Sr. 89%
Paula Miller 67%
Yvonne Miller 95%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 21%
Brian Moran 92%
Harvey Morgan 23%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 17%
Dave Nutter 33%
James O'Brien, Jr. 24%
Glenn Oder 11%
Harry Parrish 33%
Clarence Phillips 94%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 73%
Harry Potts, Jr. 50%
Bob Purkey 24%
Lacey Putney 40%
Frederick Quayle 47%
Melanie Rapp 18%
Gary Reese 56%
John Spence Reid 22%
D. Nick Rerras 17%
William Reynolds 82%
Christopher Saxman 11%
James Scott 80%
Stephen Shannon 100%
Beverly Sherwood 18%
James Shuler 87%
Kenneth Stolle 29%
Jackie Thomas Stump 94%
Terrie Suit 36%
Robert Tata 37%
Patricia Ticer 95%
Marian Amelia Van Landingham 92%
Mitchell Van Yahres 90%
William Wampler, Jr. 50%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 2%
Onzlee Ware 100%
Glenn Weatherholtz 8%
John Welch III 8%
Mary Margaret Whipple 84%
Martin Williams 16%
VA State Senate 5 Kenny Alexander Democratic 86%
VA State House 95 Mamye BaCote Democratic 100%
VA State House 48 Robert Brink Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 29 Charles Colgan, Sr. Democratic 78%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 91%
VA State Senate 30 Adam Ebbin Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 95%
VA State House 90 Algie Howell, Jr. Democratic 67%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 87%
VA State House 79 Johnny Joannou Democratic 90%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones Democratic 97%
VA State Senate 6 Lynwood Lewis, Jr. Democratic 75%
VA State Senate 2 Mamie Locke Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 89%
VA State Senate 16 Henry Marsh III Democratic 92%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 89%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 90%
VA State Senate 38 Phillip Puckett Democratic 92%
VA State Senate 36 Toddy Puller Democratic 86%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 83%
VA State House 43 Mark Sickles Democratic 75%
VA State House 77 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 100%
VA State House 92 Jeion Ward Democratic 100%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 88%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 28%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 11%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 11%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 10%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 44%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 0%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 0%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 22%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 26%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 41%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 11%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 26%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 33%
VA U.S. House 5 Robert Hurt Republican 22%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 42%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 10%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 69%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 8%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 11%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 22%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 41%
VA State Senate 11 Stephen Martin Republican 18%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 11%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 11%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 24%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 25%
VA State Senate 26 Mark Obenshain Republican 0%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 46%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 31%
VA State House 86 Thomas Rust Republican 33%
VA State House 30 Edward Scott Republican 0%
VA State Senate 12 Walter Stosch Republican 16%
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 33%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 10%
VA State Senate 10 John Watkins Republican 26%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 8%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top