Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Louisiana ACLU

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
LA State Senate 3 Jean-Paul Morrell Democratic 88%
LA State Senate 5 Karen Peterson Democratic 86%
Cedric Glover 83%
Elcie Guillory 75%
Willie Hunter, Jr. 75%
Wilfred Pierre 75%
Ernest Baylor, Jr. 71%
Roy Quezaire, Jr. 71%
Diana Bajoie 67%
LA State Senate 28 Eric LaFleur Democratic 67%
Carla Dartez 63%
LA State Senate 29 Richard Gallot, Jr. Democratic 63%
Alexander Heaton 63%
Avon Honey 63%
Michael Jackson 63%
William Daniel IV 57%
Cleo Fields 57%
Lydia Jackson 57%
LA State Senate 8 John Alario, Jr. Republican 50%
LA State House 102 Jeff Arnold Democratic 50%
Shirley Bowler 50%
Charles DeWitt, Jr. 50%
Charles Jones 50%
Kenneth Odinet, Sr. 50%
LA U.S. House 2 Cedric Richmond Democratic 50%
LA Parish President At-Large Errol Romero 50%
Monica Walker 50%
Joel Chaisson II 44%
Donald Cravins, Sr. 44%
Israel Curtis 43%
Herman Ray Hill 43%
Donald Hines 43%
Billy Montgomery 43%
Thomas Townsend 43%
Thomas Wright 43%
Ernest Wooton 40%
N. J. Damico 38%
Rick Farrar 38%
Butch Gautreaux 38%
Troy Hebert 38%
Jack Smith 38%
LA State Senate 34 Francis Thompson Democratic 38%
Kay Katz 37%
Gillis Pinac 37%
Craig Romero 36%
J. Chris Ullo 36%
Jean Doerge 33%
Sydnie Mae Durand 33%
LA State Senate 36 Robert Adley Republican 30%
LA Lieutenant Governor Jay Dardenne, Jr. Republican 30%
Heulette Fontenot 30%
Ken Hollis 30%
Robby Carter 29%
Roy Hopkins 29%
LA State Senate 10 Daniel Martiny Republican 29%
Charles McDonald 29%
LA State Senate 25 Dan Morrish Republican 29%
Robert Barham 27%
Arthur Lentini 27%
Michael Michot 27%
Willie Mount 27%
Gerald Theunissen 27%
Ernest Alexander 25%
Damon Baldone 25%
Hollis Downs 25%
Robert Faucheux, Jr. 25%
Lelon Kenney 25%
Robert Marionneaux, Jr. 25%
LA State Senate 19 Gary Smith, Jr. Democratic 25%
Jane Smith 25%
Wayne Waddell 25%
Joe McPherson 22%
LA Secretary of State Tom Schedler, Jr. Republican 22%
James Cain 18%
Francis Heitmeier 18%
Max Malone 18%
Kenneth Smith 18%
Clara Baudoin 17%
Glenn Ansardi 14%
Donald Cazayoux, Jr. 14%
Carl Crane 14%
LA State Senate 1 A. Crowe, Jr. Republican 14%
LA State Senate 13 Dale Erdey Republican 14%
Thomas McVea 14%
Joseph Toomy 14%
Gary Beard 13%
Mickey Frith 13%
LA State Senate 27 Ronnie Johns Republican 13%
Loulan Pitre, Jr. 13%
Joe Salter 13%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 13%
Jim Tucker 13%
Reggie Dupre, Jr. 11%
Noble Ellington 11%
Beverly Gourdon Bruce 0%
Emile Bruneau 0%
LA State House 13 James Fannin Democratic 0%
Nita Hutter 0%
Donald Kennard 0%
Charles Lancaster, Jr. 0%
Henry Powell 0%
Pete Schneider III 0%
LA State Senate 30 John Smith Republican 0%
LA Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry Mike Strain Republican 0%
Warren Triche, Jr. 0%
LA State Senate 33 Michael Walsworth Republican 0%
Diane Winston 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top