or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Parks Conservation Association

1999-2000 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Thomas Allen 87%
Rob Andrews 87%
Brian Baird 87%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 87%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 87%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 87%
Charlie Bass 87%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 87%
Douglas Bereuter 87%
Shelley Berkley 87%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 87%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 87%
Rod Blagojevich 87%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 87%
Sherwood Boehlert 87%
David Edward Bonior 87%
Robert Borski, Jr. 87%
Leonard Boswell 87%
Rick Boucher 87%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 87%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 87%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 87%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 87%
Mike Castle 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 80%
Eva Clayton 87%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 100%
Robert Clement 87%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 87%
Gary Condit 87%
Jerry Costello 87%
William Coyne 87%
Robert Cramer 87%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 87%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 87%
Thomas Daschle 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 87%
James Davis 87%
Thomas Davis III 87%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 87%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 87%
Peter Deutsch 87%
Norm Dicks 87%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 87%
Chris Dodd 80%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 87%
Byron Dorgan 80%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 87%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
Vern Ehlers 100%
Philip English 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 87%
Bob Etheridge 87%
Lane Evans 87%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 87%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 87%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 87%
Mark Foley 87%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 100%
Jonas Frost III 87%
Wayne Gilchrest 100%
Charlie Gonzalez 87%
Bart Gordon 87%
Daniel Graham 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 87%
James Greenwood 87%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 87%
Tony Hall 87%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 87%
Maurice Hinchey 87%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 87%
Thomas Holden 87%
Ernest Hollings 80%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 87%
Darlene Hooley 87%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 87%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 87%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 87%
James Merrill Jeffords 80%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 87%
Nancy Johnson 87%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
Paul Kanjorski 87%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 87%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 87%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 87%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 87%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 87%
Gerald Kleczka 87%
Herb Kohl 100%
Dennis Kucinich 87%
John LaFalce 87%
Ray LaHood 87%
Nicholas Lampson 87%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 87%
James Leach 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 87%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 87%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 87%
Joe Lieberman 100%
Blanche Lincoln 80%
William Lipinski 87%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 87%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 87%
Dick Lugar 80%
William Luther 87%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 87%
James Maloney 87%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 87%
Frank Mascara 87%
Robert Matsui 87%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 87%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 87%
Martin Meehan 87%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 87%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 87%
John Moakley 87%
Dennis Moore 87%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 87%
Constance Morella 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 87%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 87%
Jim Oberstar 87%
John Olver 87%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 87%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 87%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 87%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 87%
Donald Payne 87%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 87%
David Phelps 87%
Earl Pomeroy 87%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 87%
Jack Quinn 87%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 87%
James Ramstad 87%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 87%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 87%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
Ciro Rodriguez 87%
Steve Rothman 87%
Marge Roukema 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 87%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 87%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 87%
Jim Saxton 100%
Joe Scarborough 87%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 87%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 87%
Christopher Shays 100%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 87%
Vic Snyder 100%
John Spratt, Jr. 87%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 87%
Pete Stark 87%
Ted Strickland 87%
Ellen Tauscher 87%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 87%
Karen Thurman 87%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 87%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Ed Towns 87%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 87%
James Turner 87%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 87%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 87%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 87%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 87%
James Walsh 87%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 87%
Mel Watt 87%
Anthony Weiner 87%
W. Curtis Weldon 87%
Gerald Weller 87%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 87%
Lynn Woolsey 87%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top