or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Land Rights Association (formerly League of Private Property Voters)

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 33%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 92%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 78%
Rodney Alexander 83%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 42%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 83%
Brian Baird 8%
Richard Hugh Baker 92%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 17%
Cass Ballenger 92%
J. Gresham Barrett 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 92%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 75%
Charlie Bass 83%
Max Baucus 56%
Evan Bayh 11%
Bob Beauprez 92%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 8%
Chris Bell 17%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 67%
Shelley Berkley 8%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 67%
Michael Bilirakis 100%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 8%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 8%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 83%
Kit Bond 89%
Henry Bonilla 67%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 92%
Mary Bono Mack 75%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 92%
Leonard Boswell 25%
Rick Boucher 17%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 11%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 25%
John Breaux 44%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 8%
Henry Brown, Jr. 92%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 78%
Ginny Brown-Waite 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Max Burns 92%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 92%
Dan Burton 92%
Steve Buyer 92%
Robert Byrd 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 92%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 92%
Ben Campbell 89%
Chris Cannon 100%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 75%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 8%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 50%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 0%
Brad Carson 42%
Julia Carson 8%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 100%
Edward Case 8%
Mike Castle 58%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 92%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 33%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
Chris Chocola 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 17%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 92%
Norm Coleman 100%
Michael Collins 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 44%
Kent Conrad 11%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 8%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 0%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 8%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 75%
Philip Crane 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 92%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 0%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 92%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 8%
Randall Cunningham 100%
Thomas Daschle 44%
Artur Davis 33%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 0%
Jo Ann Davis 100%
Lincoln Davis 50%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 0%
Thomas Davis III 75%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 44%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 25%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 56%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 83%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 92%
Norm Dicks 8%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 8%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 0%
Elizabeth Dole 89%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Calvin Dooley 50%
John Doolittle 100%
Byron Dorgan 22%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 0%
David Dreier 83%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 83%
Jennifer Dunn 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 11%
John Edwards 0%
Chet Edwards 67%
Vern Ehlers 58%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 92%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 75%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 17%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 8%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 100%
Russ Feingold 11%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 44%
Michael Ferguson 33%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 78%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Mark Foley 92%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 92%
Harold Ford, Jr. 17%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 92%
Barney Frank 8%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 58%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 17%
Elton Gallegly 100%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 92%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 0%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 58%
Jim Gibbons 100%
Wayne Gilchrest 67%
Paul Gillmor 75%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 100%
Charlie Gonzalez 8%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 92%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 92%
Bart Gordon 17%
Porter Goss 75%
Daniel Graham 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 67%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 78%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top