or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Land Rights Association (formerly League of Private Property Voters)

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 8%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 83%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 100%
Wayne Allard 90%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 8%
Joe Baca, Sr. 33%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 58%
Brian Baird 8%
Richard Hugh Baker 67%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Cass Ballenger 92%
Roscoe Bartlett 83%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 92%
Charlie Bass 25%
Max Baucus 30%
Evan Bayh 30%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 25%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 83%
Shelley Berkley 25%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 83%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 50%
Michael Bilirakis 83%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 42%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 17%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 92%
Kit Bond 90%
Henry Bonilla 92%
Mary Bono Mack 58%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 33%
Rick Boucher 17%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 67%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 67%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 17%
John Breaux 60%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 92%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 75%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 100%
Robert Byrd 20%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 58%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 67%
Ben Campbell 90%
Chris Cannon 67%
Eric Cantor 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 67%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Brad Carson 33%
Julia Carson 0%
Mike Castle 42%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 30%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 75%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 0%
Hillary Clinton 10%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 17%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 75%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 90%
Michael Collins 92%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
Larry Combest 92%
Kent Conrad 30%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 25%
Christopher Cox 83%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 58%
Philip Crane 67%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 92%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 0%
Barbara Cubin 75%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 100%
Thomas Daschle 10%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 25%
Jo Ann Davis 83%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 8%
Thomas Davis III 50%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 92%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 8%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 90%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 67%
Norm Dicks 33%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 25%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 80%
Calvin Dooley 25%
John Doolittle 100%
Byron Dorgan 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 0%
David Dreier 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 75%
Jennifer Dunn 83%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 20%
Chet Edwards 58%
Vern Ehlers 17%
Jo Ann Emerson 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 58%
John Ensign 90%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 33%
Lane Evans 8%
Terry Everett 58%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 33%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 25%
Russ Feingold 10%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
Michael Ferguson 42%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 60%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Ernest Fletcher 75%
Mark Foley 58%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
Harold Ford, Jr. 17%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 83%
Barney Frank 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 17%
William Frist 90%
Jonas Frost III 8%
Elton Gallegly 75%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 25%
Jim Gibbons 92%
Wayne Gilchrest 50%
Paul Gillmor 67%
Charlie Gonzalez 8%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 100%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
Bart Gordon 25%
Porter Goss 67%
Daniel Graham 10%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 92%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
Mark Green 67%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 17%
James Greenwood 17%
Judd Gregg 80%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
Gilbert Gutknecht 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 10%
Jane Harman 8%
Melissa Hart 67%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 8%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Robert Hayes 67%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 67%
Wally Herger, Jr. 100%
Baron Hill 25%
Maurice Hinchey 25%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 17%
David Lee Hobson 92%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 0%
Pete Hoekstra 92%
Thomas Holden 17%
Ernest Hollings 10%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 33%
Darlene Hooley 17%
John Nathan Hostettler 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top