or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vietnam Veterans of America

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Veterans
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 50%
Gary Ackerman 38%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 38%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 50%
Todd Akin 38%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 100%
Rodney Alexander 50%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 38%
Rob Andrews 38%
Joe Baca, Sr. 38%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 38%
Brian Baird 57%
Richard Hugh Baker 25%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 38%
J. Gresham Barrett 50%
Roscoe Bartlett 25%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 38%
Charlie Bass 38%
Max Baucus 50%
Evan Bayh 50%
Bob Beauprez 50%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 57%
Bob Bennett 100%
Shelley Berkley 25%
Howard Berman 38%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
Judy Biggert 38%
Michael Bilirakis 50%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 38%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 38%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 50%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 25%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 38%
Sherwood Boehlert 38%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 38%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 38%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 38%
Mary Bono Mack 25%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 50%
Leonard Boswell 62%
Rick Boucher 50%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 38%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 38%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 50%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 50%
Henry Brown, Jr. 38%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 50%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ginny Brown-Waite 50%
Jim Bunning 100%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 50%
Conrad Burns 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 38%
Dan Burton 38%
Steve Buyer 25%
Robert Byrd 50%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 25%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 38%
Chris Cannon 25%
Eric Cantor 38%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 50%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 38%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 50%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 38%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 38%
Dennis Cardoza 38%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 50%
Julia Carson 50%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 50%
Edward Case 50%
Mike Castle 12%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 25%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 50%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
Chris Chocola 50%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 38%
Hillary Clinton 50%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 50%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 62%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 38%
Norm Coleman 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 100%
Kent Conrad 0%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 38%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 12%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 50%
Christopher Cox 25%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 38%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 50%
Barbara Cubin 25%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 38%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 50%
Randall Cunningham 38%
Artur Davis 50%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 50%
James Davis 25%
Jo Ann Davis 50%
Lincoln Davis 50%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 50%
Thomas Davis III 38%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 38%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 50%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 50%
Bill Delahunt 50%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 50%
Thomas DeLay 25%
James DeMint 38%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 25%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 38%
Norm Dicks 38%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 50%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 38%
Elizabeth Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
John Doolittle 38%
Byron Dorgan 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 50%
David Dreier 38%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 50%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
Chet Edwards 25%
Vern Ehlers 38%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 38%
Jo Ann Emerson 38%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 38%
Philip English 50%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 25%
Bob Etheridge 25%
Lane Evans 50%
Terry Everett 25%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 38%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 25%
Tom Feeney 50%
Russ Feingold 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
Michael Ferguson 25%
Bob Filner 38%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 38%
Mark Foley 25%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 50%
Harold Ford, Jr. 38%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 38%
Barney Frank 38%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 38%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 38%
William Frist 100%
Elton Gallegly 38%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 50%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 50%
Jim Gibbons 25%
Wayne Gilchrest 25%
Paul Gillmor 38%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 38%
Charlie Gonzalez 38%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 38%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 25%
Bart Gordon 38%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 38%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 38%
Mark Green 38%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 25%
Judd Gregg 100%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 50%
Gilbert Gutknecht 38%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 50%
Jane Harman 50%
Katherine Harris 38%
Melissa Hart 50%
J. Dennis Hastert 33%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 38%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 38%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Robert Hayes 38%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 50%
Joel Hefley 25%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 38%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top