or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vietnam Veterans of America

1997-1998 Positions

Issues: Veterans
State Office District Name Party Rating
Linda Smith 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Michael McNulty 83%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 80%
Wendell Ford 80%
Ron Paul 80%
Mark Souder 75%
Ed Towns 75%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 67%
Henry Bonilla 67%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 67%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 67%
Ernest Hollings 67%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 67%
Patrick Kennedy 67%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 67%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 67%
John Shadegg 67%
Ted Strickland 67%
Gene Taylor 67%
Cass Ballenger 60%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 60%
Dale Bumpers 60%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 60%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 60%
Joel Hefley 60%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 60%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 60%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 60%
Dave Obey 60%
Jack Quinn 60%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 60%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 60%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 60%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 60%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 60%
James Turner 60%
Rob Andrews 50%
Henry Scott Baesler 50%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 50%
Roscoe Bartlett 50%
Howard Berman 50%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Michael Bilirakis 50%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
Robert Borski, Jr. 50%
Rick Boucher 50%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 50%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
John Breaux 50%
Richard Bryan 50%
Ed Bryant 50%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 50%
Robert Byrd 50%
Thomas Campbell 50%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 50%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 50%
Mike Castle 50%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 50%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 50%
Jon Lynn Christensen 50%
William Clay, Sr. 50%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 50%
Christopher Cox 50%
William Coyne 50%
Thomas Daschle 50%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 50%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 50%
Jay Dickey 50%
Norm Dicks 50%
John Doolittle 50%
Byron Dorgan 50%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 50%
Chet Edwards 50%
Jo Ann Emerson 50%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 50%
Bob Etheridge 50%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 50%
Russ Feingold 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
Bob Filner 50%
Barney Frank 50%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 50%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 50%
Benjamin Gilman 50%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 50%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 50%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 50%
Van Hilleary 50%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 50%
Maurice Hinchey 50%
David Lee Hobson 50%
Thomas Holden 50%
Duncan Hunter 50%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 50%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 50%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 50%
Dale Kildee 50%
Herb Kohl 50%
Dennis Kucinich 50%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 50%
Stephen Largent 50%
Frank Lautenberg 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 50%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 50%
William Lipinski 50%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 50%
Robert Matsui 50%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 50%
Bill McCollum 50%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 50%
Martin Meehan 50%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 50%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 50%
Dan Miller 50%
David Minge 50%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 50%
John Moakley 50%
Constance Morella 50%
Carol Moseley Braun 50%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 50%
Sue Myrick 50%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 50%
Richard Pombo 50%
John Edward Porter 50%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 50%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 50%
Silvestre Reyes 50%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 50%
Jim Ryun 50%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matt Salmon Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 50%
Paul Sarbanes 50%
Joe Scarborough 50%
Daniel Schaefer 50%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 50%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 50%
Vincent Snowbarger 50%
Floyd Spence 50%
Pete Stark 50%
Bob Stump 50%
Bart Stupak 50%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 50%
Karen Thurman 50%
Todd Tiahrt 50%
James Traficant, Jr. 50%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 50%
David Weldon 50%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 50%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 50%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 40%
Max Baucus 40%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 40%
James Davis 40%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 40%
Chris Dodd 40%
Calvin Dooley 40%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 40%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 40%
Victor Fazio 40%
Michael Patrick Forbes 40%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 40%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 40%
Lee Hamilton 40%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 40%
Pete Hoekstra 40%
Asa Hutchinson 40%
Henry Hyde 40%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 40%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 40%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 40%
Scott Klug 40%
Nicholas Lampson 40%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 40%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 40%
Ronald Packard 40%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 40%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 40%
Martin Olav Sabo 40%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 40%
Arlen Specter 40%
Charles Stenholm 40%
Esteban Edward Torres 40%
Robert Torricelli 40%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 40%
Zach Wamp 40%
Robert Wexler 40%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 33%
Gary Ackerman 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top