or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 93%
Gary Ackerman 80%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 23%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 27%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 12%
Rodney Alexander 77%
Wayne Allard 9%
George Allen 12%
Thomas Allen 93%
Rob Andrews 87%
Joe Baca, Sr. 90%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 30%
Brian Baird 83%
Richard Hugh Baker 27%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 30%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 23%
Charlie Bass 43%
Max Baucus 88%
Evan Bayh 97%
Bob Beauprez 33%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 97%
Bob Bennett 18%
Shelley Berkley 90%
Howard Berman 87%
Marion Berry 83%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 47%
Michael Bilirakis 33%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 33%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 90%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 30%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 30%
Sherwood Boehlert 43%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 30%
Kit Bond 12%
Henry Bonilla 27%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 30%
Mary Bono Mack 40%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 33%
Leonard Boswell 87%
Rick Boucher 73%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 94%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 73%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 30%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 87%
Henry Brown, Jr. 30%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 90%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 12%
Ginny Brown-Waite 23%
Jim Bunning 12%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 30%
Conrad Burns 12%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 37%
Dan Burton 30%
Steve Buyer 23%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 30%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 33%
Chris Cannon 27%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 27%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 43%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 93%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
Dennis Cardoza 83%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 94%
Julia Carson 87%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 23%
Edward Case 87%
Mike Castle 53%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 33%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 42%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 6%
Chris Chocola 30%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 93%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 27%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 9%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 30%
Norm Coleman 21%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 42%
Kent Conrad 94%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 97%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 77%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 12%
Jon Corzine 97%
Jerry Costello 87%
Christopher Cox 27%
Larry Craig 6%
Robert Cramer 67%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 9%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 30%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
Barbara Cubin 27%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 27%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 97%
Randall Cunningham 33%
Artur Davis 93%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 93%
James Davis 87%
Jo Ann Davis 30%
Lincoln Davis 70%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 93%
Thomas Davis III 37%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 20%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 83%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 93%
Thomas DeLay 23%
James DeMint 30%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 27%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 33%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 33%
Norm Dicks 90%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 90%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 97%
Elizabeth Dole 12%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 6%
John Doolittle 27%
Byron Dorgan 94%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 93%
David Dreier 27%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 27%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 80%
Vern Ehlers 37%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 90%
Jo Ann Emerson 30%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 97%
Philip English 40%
John Ensign 12%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Bob Etheridge 90%
Lane Evans 93%
Terry Everett 27%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 97%
Tom Feeney 27%
Russ Feingold 97%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 91%
Michael Ferguson 40%
Bob Filner 97%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 20%
Mark Foley 37%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 30%
Harold Ford, Jr. 80%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 30%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 27%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 43%
William Frist 9%
Elton Gallegly 30%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 30%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 37%
Jim Gibbons 27%
Wayne Gilchrest 37%
Paul Gillmor 37%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 27%
Charlie Gonzalez 93%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 27%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 27%
Bart Gordon 70%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 27%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 12%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 30%
Mark Green 40%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 73%
Judd Gregg 15%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
Gilbert Gutknecht 33%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 24%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 97%
Jane Harman 83%
Katherine Harris 37%
Melissa Hart 33%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 87%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 30%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 12%
Robert Hayes 27%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 27%
Joel Hefley 30%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 30%
Wally Herger, Jr. 30%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top