or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Public Health Association

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 89%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 22%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 25%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 29%
Rodney Alexander 56%
Wayne Allard 14%
George Allen 29%
Thomas Allen 89%
Rob Andrews 86%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 44%
Brian Baird 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 56%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 11%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 56%
Charlie Bass 56%
Max Baucus 33%
Evan Bayh 71%
Bob Beauprez 56%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 29%
Shelley Berkley 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 86%
Judy Biggert 56%
Michael Bilirakis 44%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 11%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 89%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 22%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 44%
Sherwood Boehlert 76%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 56%
Kit Bond 43%
Henry Bonilla 33%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 22%
Mary Bono Mack 67%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 33%
Leonard Boswell 78%
Rick Boucher 78%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 78%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 44%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 56%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 29%
Ginny Brown-Waite 44%
Jim Bunning 29%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 44%
Conrad Burns 14%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 50%
Dan Burton 13%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 80%
Steve Buyer 44%
Robert Byrd 71%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 56%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 44%
Chris Cannon 40%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 22%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 86%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 78%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 88%
Dennis Cardoza 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 67%
Julia Carson 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 33%
Edward Case 100%
Mike Castle 67%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 44%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 71%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 29%
Ben Chandler III 78%
Chris Chocola 44%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 22%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 43%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 44%
Norm Coleman 43%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 29%
Kent Conrad 57%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 100%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 29%
Jon Corzine 100%
Jerry Costello 67%
Christopher Cox 22%
Larry Craig 29%
Robert Cramer 78%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 29%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 56%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
Barbara Cubin 33%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 44%
Artur Davis 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 78%
Jo Ann Davis 44%
Lincoln Davis 67%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 89%
Thomas Davis III 67%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 86%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 89%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 86%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 33%
James DeMint 29%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 71%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 56%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 56%
Norm Dicks 88%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 43%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 17%
John Doolittle 22%
Byron Dorgan 57%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 67%
David Dreier 50%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 33%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 78%
Vern Ehlers 56%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 89%
Jo Ann Emerson 57%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 88%
Philip English 67%
John Ensign 29%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 78%
Bob Etheridge 89%
Lane Evans 89%
Terry Everett 22%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 22%
Russ Feingold 71%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 86%
Michael Ferguson 67%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 13%
Mark Foley 67%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 38%
Harold Ford, Jr. 100%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 56%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 11%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 67%
William Frist 57%
Elton Gallegly 44%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 22%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 38%
Jim Gibbons 44%
Wayne Gilchrest 67%
Paul Gillmor 56%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 33%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 33%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 33%
Bart Gordon 78%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 56%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 29%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 44%
Mark Green 44%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
Judd Gregg 14%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 22%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 44%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 71%
Jane Harman 89%
Katherine Harris 56%
Melissa Hart 44%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 56%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 29%
Robert Hayes 33%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 38%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top