or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Public Health Association

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Thomas Campbell 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Norm Dicks 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Calvin Dooley 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Elizabeth Furse 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Jane Harman 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Stephen Horn 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
Nancy Johnson 100%
Joseph Kennedy II 100%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Robert Matsui 100%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Martin Meehan 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
Constance Morella 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 100%
David Skaggs 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 100%
Louis Stokes 100%
Ellen Tauscher 100%
Karen Thurman 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Esteban Edward Torres 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 89%
Dale Bumpers 89%
Thomas Daschle 89%
Chris Dodd 89%
Byron Dorgan 89%
Russ Feingold 89%
John Glenn 89%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 89%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 89%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 89%
Frank Lautenberg 89%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 89%
Joe Lieberman 89%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 89%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 89%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 89%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 86%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 86%
Sherwood Boehlert 86%
David Edward Bonior 86%
Rick Boucher 86%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 86%
Julian Dixon 86%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 86%
Victor Fazio 86%
Thomas Foglietta 86%
Harold Ford, Jr. 86%
Jonas Frost III 86%
Benjamin Gilman 86%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 86%
James Greenwood 86%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 86%
Darlene Hooley 86%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 86%
Paul Kanjorski 86%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 86%
Nicholas Lampson 86%
Tom Lantos 86%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 86%
William Luther 86%
James Maloney 86%
Matthew Martinez 86%
Paul McHale 86%
Carrie Meek 86%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 86%
John Moakley 86%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 86%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 86%
Christopher Shays 86%
Vic Snyder 86%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 86%
Pete Stark 86%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 86%
Bob Wise, Jr. 86%
Ciro Rodriguez 83%
Max Baucus 78%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 78%
Kent Conrad 78%
Daniel Graham 78%
Ernest Hollings 78%
Daniel Inouye 78%
Bob Kerrey 78%
Herb Kohl 78%
Carol Moseley Braun 78%
Marion Berry 71%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 71%
Robert Borski, Jr. 71%
Mike Castle 71%
William Clay, Sr. 71%
Robert Clement 71%
James Davis 71%
Thomas Davis III 71%
Chet Edwards 71%
Harris Fawell 71%
Robert Franks 71%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 71%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 71%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 71%
Jay Johnson 71%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 71%
Sue Kelly 71%
Patrick Kennedy 71%
Gerald Kleczka 71%
James Kolbe 71%
Dennis Kucinich 71%
James Leach 71%
Thomas Manton 71%
Karen McCarthy 71%
Michael McNulty 71%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 71%
Dave Obey 71%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 71%
Donald Payne 71%
Owen Pickett 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top