Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Jericho

2002 Positions

Issues: Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 86%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 95%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 9%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 45%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 95%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 14%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 91%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 91%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 77%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 18%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 91%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 95%
Samuel Aanestad 23%
Richard Ackerman 5%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 100%
Roy Ashburn 14%
Pat Bates 14%
James Battin 9%
Russell Bogh 18%
James Brulte 5%
John Burton 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 100%
Edward Chavez 100%
Rebecca Cohn 95%
Dave Cox 23%
Lynn Daucher 36%
Manny Diaz 100%
Joseph Dunn 82%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Martha Escutia 86%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 95%
Dean Florez 82%
Dario Frommer 95%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 45%
Dennis Hollingsworth 14%
Jerome Horton 91%
Ross Johnson 9%
Betty Karnette 91%
Christine Kehoe 95%
William Knight 5%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
Jay La Suer 18%
Robert Leslie 14%
John Longville 95%
Michael Machado 91%
Ken Maddox 23%
Abel Maldonado 50%
Bob Margett 18%
Barbara Matthews 77%
William Phillip Morrow 9%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 14%
Kevin Murray 86%
George Nakano 82%
Joseph Nation 95%
Thomas Oller 5%
Jenny Oropeza 95%
Deborah Ortiz 86%
Robert Pacheco 23%
Don Perata 95%
Charles Poochigian 5%
Sarah Reyes 100%
Keith Stuart Richman 23%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
Byron Sher 82%
Nell Soto 95%
Tony Strickland 36%
John Vasconcellos 91%
Edward Vincent 18%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 91%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top