or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Republican Liberty Caucus

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 34%
Gary Ackerman 33%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 58%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 18%
Todd Akin 70%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 88%
Rodney Alexander 58%
Wayne Allard 84%
George Allen 78%
Thomas Allen 31%
Rob Andrews 45%
Joe Baca, Sr. 42%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 52%
Brian Baird 38%
Richard Hugh Baker 59%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 38%
J. Gresham Barrett 68%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 28%
Roscoe Bartlett 71%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 62%
Charlie Bass 53%
Max Baucus 46%
Evan Bayh 28%
Melissa Bean 33%
Bob Beauprez 65%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 39%
Bob Bennett 87%
Shelley Berkley 34%
Howard Berman 34%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 23%
Judy Biggert 53%
Michael Bilirakis 53%
Jeff Bingaman 35%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 60%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 46%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 30%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 70%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 41%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 60%
Sherwood Boehlert 48%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 65%
Kit Bond 85%
Henry Bonilla 55%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 66%
Mary Bono Mack 49%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 61%
Dan Boren 55%
Leonard Boswell 38%
Rick Boucher 44%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 56%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 20%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 54%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 53%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 70%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 34%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 37%
Henry Brown, Jr. 66%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 34%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 83%
Ginny Brown-Waite 59%
Jim Bunning 85%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 61%
Conrad Burns 80%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 88%
Dan Burton 58%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 35%
Steve Buyer 64%
Robert Byrd 29%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 53%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 52%
Chris Cannon 68%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 60%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 30%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 39%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 31%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 40%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 35%
Dennis Cardoza 41%
Russ Carnahan 33%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 43%
Julia Carson 44%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 62%
Edward Case 26%
Mike Castle 48%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 68%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 55%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 80%
Ben Chandler III 40%
Chris Chocola 68%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 48%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 43%
Hillary Clinton 28%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 38%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 52%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 87%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 85%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 63%
Norm Coleman 64%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 66%
Kent Conrad 35%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 47%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 53%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 79%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 42%
Jerry Costello 38%
Larry Craig 83%
Robert Cramer 47%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 83%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 58%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 31%
Barbara Cubin 62%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 56%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 62%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 35%
Artur Davis 41%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 32%
Geoff Davis 55%
James Davis 33%
Jo Ann Davis 51%
Lincoln Davis 43%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 31%
Thomas Davis III 40%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 13%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 59%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 34%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 42%
Bill Delahunt 36%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 37%
Thomas DeLay 57%
James DeMint 90%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 60%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 63%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 56%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 60%
Norm Dicks 33%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 39%
Chris Dodd 25%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 43%
Elizabeth Dole 75%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 72%
John Doolittle 58%
Byron Dorgan 28%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 30%
Thelma Drake 58%
David Dreier 60%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 78%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
Chet Edwards 40%
Vern Ehlers 60%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 34%
Jo Ann Emerson 59%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 30%
Philip English 58%
John Ensign 93%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 83%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 38%
Bob Etheridge 28%
Lane Evans 32%
Terry Everett 59%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 37%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 32%
Tom Feeney 74%
Russ Feingold 23%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 30%
Michael Ferguson 50%
Bob Filner 39%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 45%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 89%
Mark Foley 49%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 57%
Harold Ford, Jr. 35%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 55%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 58%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 65%
Barney Frank 35%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 70%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 48%
William Frist 80%
Elton Gallegly 53%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 74%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 41%
Jim Gibbons 60%
Wayne Gilchrest 45%
Paul Gillmor 51%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 56%
Charlie Gonzalez 41%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 54%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 63%
Bart Gordon 46%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 57%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 83%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 63%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 43%
Mark Green 60%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 30%
Judd Gregg 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top