Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Republican Liberty Caucus

2005 Positions on Personal Liberties

State Office District Name Party Rating
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic/Farmer/Labor 61%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 53%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 58%
CO Commissioner of Agriculture John Salazar No Party Affiliation 47%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 40%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 85%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 44%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 47%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 45%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 40%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 40%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 44%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 42%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 32%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 50%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 37%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 35%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 33%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 37%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 44%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 45%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 70%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 26%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 79%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 40%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 42%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 68%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 80%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 42%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 45%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 47%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 40%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 75%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 40%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 60%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 80%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 35%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 78%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 45%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 40%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 45%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 45%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 26%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 58%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 32%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 45%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 42%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 45%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 39%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 70%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 42%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 39%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 50%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 65%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 75%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 42%
LA Governor Bobby Jindal Republican 45%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 33%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 58%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 17%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 45%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 44%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 15%
MN U.S. House 2 John Kline Republican 50%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 30%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 35%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 45%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 40%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 84%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 37%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 75%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 42%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 47%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 44%
MI U.S. House 10 Candice Miller Republican 35%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 47%
FL U.S. House 1 Jeff Miller Republican 33%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 47%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 45%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 39%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 65%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 42%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 45%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 42%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 55%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 45%
GA U.S. House 6 Tom Price Republican 45%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 45%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 35%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 72%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 37%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 31%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 42%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 63%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 53%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 50%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 47%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 41%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 85%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 42%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 42%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 45%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 42%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 45%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 80%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 40%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 30%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 40%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 65%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 37%
GA U.S. House 3 Lynn Westmoreland Republican 38%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 35%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 39%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 40%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 21%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 39%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top