or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Republican Liberty Caucus

2002 Positions on Conservative Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 39
Gary Ackerman 25
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 85
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 24
Todd Akin 90
Wayne Allard 83
George Allen 80
Thomas Allen 34
Rob Andrews 19
Joe Baca, Sr. 49
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 85
Brian Baird 44
Richard Hugh Baker 77
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 31
Cass Ballenger 79
Roscoe Bartlett 80
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 84
Charlie Bass 85
Max Baucus 41
Evan Bayh 37
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 29
Bob Bennett 79
Douglas Bereuter 64
Shelley Berkley 25
Howard Berman 31
Marion Berry 44
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 32
Judy Biggert 79
Michael Bilirakis 83
Jeff Bingaman 36
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 49
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 29
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 84
Sherwood Boehlert 59
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 90
Kit Bond 71
Henry Bonilla 79
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 90
Leonard Boswell 44
Rick Boucher 34
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 26
Allen Boyd, Jr. 49
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 90
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 41
John Breaux 36
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 6
Henry Brown, Jr. 79
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 39
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 89
Jim Bunning 90
Conrad Burns 83
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 74
Dan Burton 93
Steve Buyer 73
Robert Byrd 31
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 79
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 79
Ben Campbell 75
Chris Cannon 88
Eric Cantor 85
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 31
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 64
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 34
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 29
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 34
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 41
Brad Carson 49
Julia Carson 31
Mike Castle 79
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 85
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 51
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 78
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 25
Hillary Clinton 31
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 31
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 79
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 77
Michael Collins 89
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 77
Kent Conrad 39
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 33
Jon Corzine 22
Jerry Costello 44
Christopher Cox 82
Larry Craig 88
Robert Cramer 54
Philip Crane 89
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 74
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 79
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 31
Barbara Cubin 85
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 34
Randall Cunningham 78
Thomas Daschle 29
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 29
James Davis 25
Jo Ann Davis 79
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 34
Thomas Davis III 71
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 24
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 79
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 33
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 34
Bill Delahunt 33
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 29
Thomas DeLay 89
James DeMint 85
Peter Deutsch 26
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 71
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 69
Norm Dicks 39
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 41
Chris Dodd 39
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 29
Pete Domenici, Jr. 88
Calvin Dooley 49
John Doolittle 89
Byron Dorgan 44
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 34
David Dreier 79
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 79
Jennifer Dunn 79
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 22
John Edwards 35
Chet Edwards 57
Vern Ehlers 69
Jo Ann Emerson 88
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 29
Philip English 69
John Ensign 89
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 34
Bob Etheridge 34
Lane Evans 36
Terry Everett 83
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 31
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 29
Russ Feingold 31
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 35
Michael Ferguson 68
Bob Filner 5
Peter Fitzgerald 77
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90
Mark Foley 85
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 90
Harold Ford, Jr. 49
Vito Fossella, Jr. 78
Barney Frank 47
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 74
William Frist 85
Jonas Frost III 34
Elton Gallegly 85
Richard Andrew Gephardt 20
Jim Gibbons 90
Wayne Gilchrest 74
Paul Gillmor 77
Charlie Gonzalez 34
Virgil Goode, Jr. 85
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 85
Bart Gordon 39
Porter Goss 79
Daniel Graham 39
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 79
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 74
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 83
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 85
Mark Green 79
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 5
James Greenwood 69
Judd Gregg 78
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 31
Gilbert Gutknecht 79
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 85
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 69
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 24
Jane Harman 39
Melissa Hart 78
J. Dennis Hastert 0
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 29
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 85
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 80
Robert Hayes 74
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 90
Joel Hefley 90
Wally Herger, Jr. 90
Baron Hill 54
Maurice Hinchey 39
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 34
David Lee Hobson 85
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 34
Pete Hoekstra 90
Thomas Holden 44
Ernest Hollings 5
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 39
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 29
Darlene Hooley 39
John Nathan Hostettler 80
Amory Houghton, Jr. 64
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 34

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top