or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Republican Liberty Caucus

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 28%
Gary Ackerman 30%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 55%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 11%
Todd Akin 70%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 83%
Rodney Alexander 40%
Wayne Allard 85%
George Allen 80%
Thomas Allen 28%
Rob Andrews 18%
Joe Baca, Sr. 23%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 63%
Brian Baird 43%
Richard Hugh Baker 50%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 18%
J. Gresham Barrett 73%
Roscoe Bartlett 80%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 53%
Charlie Bass 63%
Max Baucus 38%
Evan Bayh 31%
Bob Beauprez 63%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 28%
Bob Bennett 76%
Shelley Berkley 38%
Howard Berman 23%
Marion Berry 23%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 26%
Judy Biggert 63%
Michael Bilirakis 60%
Jeff Bingaman 23%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 65%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 45%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 30%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 60%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 20%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 58%
Sherwood Boehlert 53%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 65%
Kit Bond 80%
Henry Bonilla 60%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 58%
Mary Bono Mack 58%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 63%
Leonard Boswell 33%
Rick Boucher 28%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 22%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 40%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 68%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 18%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 20%
Henry Brown, Jr. 55%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 20%
Ginny Brown-Waite 63%
Jim Bunning 82%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 68%
Conrad Burns 80%
Dan Burton 65%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 7%
Steve Buyer 58%
Robert Byrd 19%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 53%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 55%
Chris Cannon 63%
Eric Cantor 70%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 25%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 25%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 21%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 15%
Dennis Cardoza 38%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 25%
Julia Carson 15%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 68%
Edward Case 34%
Mike Castle 60%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 70%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 53%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 88%
Ben Chandler III 29%
Chris Chocola 63%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 33%
Hillary Clinton 13%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 25%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 63%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 63%
Norm Coleman 78%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
Kent Conrad 25%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 25%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 30%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 87%
Jon Corzine 18%
Jerry Costello 23%
Christopher Cox 75%
Larry Craig 82%
Robert Cramer 45%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 78%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 58%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 30%
Barbara Cubin 70%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 70%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 20%
Randall Cunningham 61%
Artur Davis 35%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 23%
James Davis 33%
Jo Ann Davis 60%
Lincoln Davis 40%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 30%
Thomas Davis III 50%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 18%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 65%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 31%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 25%
Bill Delahunt 20%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 18%
Thomas DeLay 65%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 70%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 53%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 68%
Norm Dicks 30%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 28%
Chris Dodd 18%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 23%
Elizabeth Dole 77%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 76%
John Doolittle 63%
Byron Dorgan 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 20%
David Dreier 55%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 63%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
Chet Edwards 38%
Vern Ehlers 55%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 20%
Jo Ann Emerson 50%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 28%
Philip English 50%
John Ensign 87%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 82%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 23%
Bob Etheridge 23%
Lane Evans 20%
Terry Everett 63%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 23%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 23%
Tom Feeney 73%
Russ Feingold 28%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 15%
Michael Ferguson 45%
Bob Filner 30%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 85%
Mark Foley 60%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 63%
Harold Ford, Jr. 28%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 60%
Barney Frank 18%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 80%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 50%
William Frist 75%
Elton Gallegly 55%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 48%
Jim Gibbons 70%
Wayne Gilchrest 58%
Paul Gillmor 53%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 68%
Charlie Gonzalez 35%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 55%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 63%
Bart Gordon 33%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 48%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 83%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 65%
Mark Green 60%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 28%
Judd Gregg 77%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 23%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 23%
Gilbert Gutknecht 68%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 79%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 53%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 18%
Jane Harman 38%
Katherine Harris 60%
Melissa Hart 65%
J. Dennis Hastert 50%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 15%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 60%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 83%
Robert Hayes 53%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 68%
Joel Hefley 63%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 78%
Wally Herger, Jr. 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top