or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Republican Liberty Caucus

2001 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 23%
Gary Ackerman 21%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 79%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 17%
Todd Akin 83%
Wayne Allard 93%
George Allen 93%
Thomas Allen 24%
Rob Andrews 28%
Joe Baca, Sr. 30%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 71%
Brian Baird 31%
Richard Hugh Baker 75%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 26%
Cass Ballenger 75%
Roscoe Bartlett 70%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 82%
Charlie Bass 80%
Max Baucus 34%
Evan Bayh 26%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 21%
Bob Bennett 93%
Douglas Bereuter 73%
Shelley Berkley 20%
Howard Berman 25%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 17%
Judy Biggert 75%
Michael Bilirakis 68%
Jeff Bingaman 17%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 36%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 22%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 72%
Sherwood Boehlert 65%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 75%
Kit Bond 88%
Henry Bonilla 75%
Mary Bono Mack 73%
Leonard Boswell 23%
Rick Boucher 38%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 6%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 28%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 78%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 28%
John Breaux 49%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 25%
Henry Brown, Jr. 80%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 18%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 90%
Jim Bunning 90%
Conrad Burns 87%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 68%
Dan Burton 82%
Steve Buyer 70%
Robert Byrd 20%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 73%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 73%
Ben Campbell 84%
Chris Cannon 77%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 75%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 12%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 68%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 18%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 19%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 29%
Brad Carson 33%
Julia Carson 23%
Mike Castle 65%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 75%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 47%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 73%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 28%
Hillary Clinton 10%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 35%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 78%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 76%
Michael Collins 73%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 65%
Kent Conrad 21%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 24%
Jon Corzine 10%
Jerry Costello 33%
Christopher Cox 76%
Larry Craig 88%
Robert Cramer 42%
Philip Crane 83%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 88%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 70%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 23%
Barbara Cubin 75%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 78%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 18%
Randall Cunningham 73%
Thomas Daschle 17%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 20%
James Davis 25%
Jo Ann Davis 78%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 23%
Thomas Davis III 65%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 10%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 70%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 23%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 20%
Bill Delahunt 21%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 23%
Thomas DeLay 78%
James DeMint 80%
Peter Deutsch 13%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 81%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 71%
Norm Dicks 29%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 29%
Chris Dodd 9%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 30%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 81%
Calvin Dooley 40%
John Doolittle 72%
Byron Dorgan 22%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 33%
David Dreier 80%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 78%
Jennifer Dunn 68%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 11%
John Edwards 16%
Chet Edwards 42%
Vern Ehlers 73%
Jo Ann Emerson 68%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 17%
Philip English 75%
John Ensign 88%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 88%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 18%
Bob Etheridge 23%
Lane Evans 20%
Terry Everett 75%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 18%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 25%
Russ Feingold 21%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 25%
Michael Ferguson 63%
Bob Filner 20%
Peter Fitzgerald 75%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 85%
Ernest Fletcher 75%
Mark Foley 63%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 73%
Harold Ford, Jr. 28%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 73%
Barney Frank 25%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 70%
William Frist 87%
Jonas Frost III 29%
Elton Gallegly 72%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 13%
Jim Gibbons 78%
Wayne Gilchrest 73%
Paul Gillmor 80%
Charlie Gonzalez 28%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 75%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 73%
Bart Gordon 36%
Porter Goss 75%
Daniel Graham 17%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 70%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 88%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 70%
Mark Green 75%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 28%
James Greenwood 73%
Judd Gregg 90%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 23%
Gilbert Gutknecht 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 57%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 13%
Jane Harman 33%
Melissa Hart 73%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 23%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 80%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 88%
Robert Hayes 75%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 78%
Joel Hefley 70%
Wally Herger, Jr. 75%
Baron Hill 44%
Maurice Hinchey 25%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 32%
David Lee Hobson 78%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 25%
Pete Hoekstra 75%
Thomas Holden 35%
Ernest Hollings 31%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 15%
Darlene Hooley 21%
John Nathan Hostettler 80%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 56%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 30%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top