or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Taxpayers Union

2011 Positions on Tax and Spending

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 11%
Sandy Adams 76%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 9%
Todd Akin 79%
Rodney Alexander 67%
Jason Altmire 35%
Rob Andrews 10%
Steve Austria 73%
Joe Baca, Sr. 15%
Roscoe Bartlett 79%
Charlie Bass 68%
Max Baucus 11%
Rick Berg 71%
Shelley Berkley 11%
Howard Berman 12%
Judy Biggert 66%
Brian Bilbray 67%
Jeff Bingaman 12%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 67%
Mary Bono Mack 76%
Dan Boren 56%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Scott Brown 60%
Ann Marie Buerkle 82%
Dan Burton 85%
Francisco Canseco 74%
Eric Cantor 73%
Dennis Cardoza 34%
Russ Carnahan 9%
Ben Chandler III 31%
Hansen Clarke 15%
Kent Conrad 9%
Jerry Costello 29%
Chip Cravaack 69%
Mark Critz 22%
Geoff Davis 72%
James DeMint 93%
Norm Dicks 10%
Robert Dold 66%
David Dreier 64%
Jo Ann Emerson 64%
Bob Filner 15%
Barney Frank 20%
Elton Gallegly 73%
Charlie Gonzalez 14%
Frank Guinta 77%
Nan Hayworth 69%
Wally Herger, Jr. 81%
Maurice Hinchey 13%
Kathy Hochul 20%
Thomas Holden 32%
Kay Hutchison 84%
Daniel Inouye 11%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 14%
Tim Johnson 78%
Dale Kildee 6%
Larry Kissell 21%
Herb Kohl 12%
Dennis Kucinich 20%
Jon Kyl 89%
Jeff Landry 85%
Steve LaTourette 61%
Frank Lautenberg 11%
Jerry Lewis 68%
Joe Lieberman 22%
Dick Lugar 84%
Dan Lungren 70%
Connie Mack IV 85%
Don Manzullo 82%
Thaddeus McCotter 72%
Brad Miller 8%
Sue Myrick 78%
Ben Nelson 29%
John Olver 16%
Ron Paul 92%
Donald Payne 12%
Todd Platts 67%
Ben Quayle 86%
Denny Rehberg 70%
Silvestre Reyes 16%
Laura Richardson 17%
David Rivera 66%
Mike Ross 46%
Steve Rothman 8%
Bobby Schilling 68%
Jean Schmidt 77%
Heath Shuler 28%
Olympia Snowe 60%
Pete Stark 19%
Cliff Stearns 88%
John Sullivan 77%
Betty Sutton 12%
Ed Towns 16%
Joe Walsh 90%
Mel Watt 11%
Jim Webb, Jr. 15%
Allen West 75%
Lynn Woolsey 19%
David Wu 19%
Bill Young 67%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 17%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 35%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 17%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Mark Begich Democratic 13%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Michael Bennet Democratic 15%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 23%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 13%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 20%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 8%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 9%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 10%
IA U.S. House 1 Bruce Braley Democratic 21%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 10%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 6%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 11%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 16%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 13%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 17%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 10%
DE U.S. House At-Large John Carney, Jr. Democratic 16%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 13%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 6%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 6%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 13%
RI U.S. House 1 David Cicilline Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 15%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 15%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 12%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 12%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 17%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 13%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 18%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 12%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 34%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 35%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 12%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 15%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 33%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 12%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 12%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 13%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 15%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 12%
FL U.S. House 21 Ted Deutch Democratic 13%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 9%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 16%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 28%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 16%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 9%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 13%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 18%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 16%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 13%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 9%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 12%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 24%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 12%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 16%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 14%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 12%
HI U.S. House 1 Colleen Hanabusa Democratic 9%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 9%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 14%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 12%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 14%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 17%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 17%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 11%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 16%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 11%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 9%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 12%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 14%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 8%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 9%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 14%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 13%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 27%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 15%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 9%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 14%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 13%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 18%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 7%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 12%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 17%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 19%
IA U.S. House 2 Dave Loebsack Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 8%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top