or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Taxpayers Union

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90%
Ron Paul 90%
John Ensign 89%
Jon Kyl 89%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 85%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 85%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 85%
Wayne Allard 84%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 83%
Judd Gregg 83%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 83%
Rick Santorum 83%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 83%
Tom Feeney 82%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 82%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 82%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 82%
John Sununu 82%
John Shadegg 81%
Tom Tancredo 81%
J. Gresham Barrett 80%
Roscoe Bartlett 80%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 80%
Sue Myrick 80%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 80%
Gilbert Gutknecht 79%
Todd Akin 78%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 78%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 78%
Christopher Cox 78%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 78%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 78%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 78%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 78%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 78%
Craig Thomas 78%
Barbara Cubin 77%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 77%
Jim Gibbons 77%
Joel Hefley 77%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 77%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 77%
Marilyn Musgrave 77%
Cliff Stearns 77%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 76%
Larry Craig 76%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 76%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 75%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 75%
Chris Chocola 75%
James DeMint 75%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 75%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 75%
Wally Herger, Jr. 75%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 75%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 75%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 74%
Trent Lott, Sr. 74%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 74%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 74%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 73%
Conrad Burns 73%
Chris Cannon 73%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 73%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 73%
John Nathan Hostettler 73%
Kay Hutchison 73%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 73%
John Sullivan 73%
Bob Beauprez 72%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 72%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 72%
Katherine Harris 72%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 72%
Pete Hoekstra 72%
MN U.S. House 2 John Kline Republican 72%
Don Manzullo 72%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 71%
Mark Green 71%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 71%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 71%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 71%
Bob Bennett 70%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 70%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 70%
Ric Keller 70%
Dick Lugar 70%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 70%
Jim Ryun 70%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 69%
Jim Bunning 69%
Eric Cantor 69%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 69%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 69%
Mark Kennedy 69%
John Linder 69%
George Radanovich 69%
Ginny Brown-Waite 68%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 68%
Melissa Hart 68%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 68%
John Warner 68%
George Allen 67%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 67%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 67%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 67%
James Ramstad 67%
Ted Stevens 67%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 67%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 66%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 66%
William Frist 66%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 66%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 66%
Dan Burton 65%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 65%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 65%
Elizabeth Dole 64%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 64%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 64%
James Talent 64%
Thomas DeLay 63%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 63%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 63%
James McCrery III 63%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 62%
Kit Bond 62%
Jo Ann Davis 62%
William Lewis Jenkins 62%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 62%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 61%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 61%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 61%
Richard Pombo 61%
Denny Rehberg 61%
Gordon Smith 61%
Judy Biggert 60%
Norm Coleman 60%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 60%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 60%
Thomas Reynolds 60%
Todd Tiahrt 60%
George Voinovich 60%
Charlie Bass 59%
Michael Bilirakis 59%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 59%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 59%
Philip English 59%
Paul Gillmor 59%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 59%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 59%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 59%
Richard Hugh Baker 58%
Kenny Hulshof 58%
Ron Lewis 58%
Michael Oxley 58%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 58%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 57%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 57%
Elton Gallegly 57%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 57%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 57%
Mark Souder 57%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 57%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 57%
Gerald Weller 57%
Sherwood Boehlert 56%
Steve Buyer 56%
Vern Ehlers 56%
Mark Foley 56%
Duncan Hunter 56%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 56%
James Nussle 56%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 56%
Charles Taylor 56%
Henry Brown, Jr. 55%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 55%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 55%
John Doolittle 55%
Deborah Pryce 55%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 55%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 54%
Randall Cunningham 54%
Terry Everett 54%
Wayne Gilchrest 54%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 54%
Nancy Johnson 54%
William Thomas 54%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 54%
Zach Wamp 54%
David Weldon 54%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 54%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 54%
Thomas Davis III 53%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 53%
Thaddeus McCotter 53%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 53%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 53%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top