or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: BIOCOM

2002 Positions

Issues: Science
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 43%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 67%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 40%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 29%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 22%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 22%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 20%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 43%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 22%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 33%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 33%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 71%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 29%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 25%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 86%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 43%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 33%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 25%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 71%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 25%
Samuel Aanestad 71%
Richard Ackerman 67%
Richard Alarcón 25%
Deirdre Alpert 38%
Roy Ashburn 71%
Pat Bates 75%
James Battin 88%
Russell Bogh 50%
James Brulte 86%
John Burton 13%
Joseph Canciamilla 33%
Edward Chavez 38%
Rebecca Cohn 43%
Dave Cox 71%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Manny Diaz 33%
Joseph Dunn 25%
John Anthony Dutra 60%
Martha Escutia 22%
Liz Figueroa 25%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 14%
Dean Florez 43%
Dario Frommer 29%
Jackie Goldberg 29%
Tom Harman 86%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 75%
Dennis Hollingsworth 71%
Jerome Horton 33%
Ross Johnson 60%
Betty Karnette 25%
Christine Kehoe 25%
William Knight 71%
Sheila Kuehl 25%
Jay La Suer 71%
Robert Leslie 67%
John Longville 22%
Michael Machado 38%
Ken Maddox 71%
Abel Maldonado 67%
Bob Margett 75%
Barbara Matthews 50%
William Phillip Morrow 75%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 71%
Kevin Murray 14%
George Nakano 33%
Joseph Nation 17%
Thomas Oller 71%
Jenny Oropeza 29%
Deborah Ortiz 29%
Robert Pacheco 75%
Don Perata 13%
Charles Poochigian 67%
Sarah Reyes 33%
Keith Stuart Richman 75%
Gloria Romero 25%
George Runner, Jr. 71%
Simón Salinas 33%
Jack Scott 29%
Byron Sher 33%
Nell Soto 14%
Tony Strickland 57%
John Vasconcellos 17%
Edward Vincent 33%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 25%
Patricia Wiggins 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top