or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Postal Workers Union

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 93%
Gary Ackerman 93%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 7%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 7%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 80%
Wayne Allard 8%
George Allen 17%
Thomas Allen 93%
Rob Andrews 93%
Joe Baca, Sr. 93%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 13%
Brian Baird 92%
Richard Hugh Baker 13%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 20%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 7%
Charlie Bass 27%
Max Baucus 92%
Evan Bayh 100%
Bob Beauprez 20%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 93%
Bob Bennett 8%
Shelley Berkley 93%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 13%
Michael Bilirakis 13%
Jeff Bingaman 92%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 14%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 69%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 7%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 7%
Sherwood Boehlert 53%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 7%
Kit Bond 42%
Henry Bonilla 13%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 15%
Mary Bono Mack 27%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 13%
Leonard Boswell 87%
Rick Boucher 73%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 60%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 7%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 92%
Henry Brown, Jr. 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 14%
Jim Bunning 17%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 20%
Conrad Burns 8%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 33%
Dan Burton 21%
Steve Buyer 13%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 21%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 27%
Chris Cannon 18%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 7%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 83%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 47%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 93%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 93%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 7%
Edward Case 80%
Mike Castle 33%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 20%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 58%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 86%
Chris Chocola 13%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 87%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 86%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 13%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 8%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 20%
Norm Coleman 25%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 79%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 8%
Jon Corzine 100%
Jerry Costello 93%
Christopher Cox 7%
Larry Craig 8%
Robert Cramer 60%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 8%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 93%
Barbara Cubin 13%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 13%
Artur Davis 73%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 87%
James Davis 87%
Jo Ann Davis 33%
Lincoln Davis 67%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 93%
Thomas Davis III 20%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 7%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 93%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 13%
James DeMint 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 33%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 7%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 7%
Norm Dicks 93%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 93%
Elizabeth Dole 33%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 17%
John Doolittle 13%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 13%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 20%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 92%
Chet Edwards 73%
Vern Ehlers 27%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 100%
Jo Ann Emerson 50%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 93%
Philip English 40%
John Ensign 9%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 93%
Bob Etheridge 87%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 13%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 93%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 7%
Russ Feingold 92%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Michael Ferguson 36%
Bob Filner 93%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 13%
Mark Foley 13%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 14%
Harold Ford, Jr. 86%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 43%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 20%
William Frist 17%
Elton Gallegly 13%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 7%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 14%
Jim Gibbons 20%
Wayne Gilchrest 27%
Paul Gillmor 27%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 7%
Charlie Gonzalez 87%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 33%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 13%
Bart Gordon 87%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 8%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 15%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 17%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 20%
Mark Green 27%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 93%
Judd Gregg 0%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 13%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 9%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 13%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Jane Harman 87%
Katherine Harris 13%
Melissa Hart 14%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 92%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 13%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 8%
Robert Hayes 21%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 14%
Joel Hefley 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top