Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Transportation Communications Union

1995 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 86%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 30%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 30%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matt Salmon Republican 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 70%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 0%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 40%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 50%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 20%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 20%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 90%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 90%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Dan Coats Republican 20%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 90%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 20%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 20%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 20%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 20%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 30%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 10%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 30%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 10%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 89%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 20%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 0%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 40%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 80%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 20%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 70%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 80%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 80%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 40%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 90%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 10%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 10%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 30%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 20%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 70%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 67%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 90%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 0%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett No Party Affiliation 90%
Neil Abercrombie 89%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 30%
Gary Ackerman 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 70%
Wayne Allard 10%
Rob Andrews 100%
Bill Archer 0%
Richard Armey 0%
John Ashcroft 10%
Spencer Bachus 10%
Henry Scott Baesler 80%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 20%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
William Baker 10%
Cass Ballenger 20%
James Barcia 70%
Bob Barr, Jr. 10%
Bill Barrett 20%
Roscoe Bartlett 20%
Charlie Bass 0%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 0%
Max Baucus 60%
Anthony Beilenson 100%
Bob Bennett 40%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
Douglas Bereuter 20%
Howard Berman 100%
Tom Bevill 80%
Brian Bilbray 12%
Michael Bilirakis 20%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 20%
Peter Blute 70%
Sherwood Boehlert 60%
John Boehner 10%
Kit Bond 20%
Henry Bonilla 10%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Sonny Bono 20%
Rick Boucher 90%
Bill Bradley 88%
John Breaux 90%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Hank Brown 20%
Richard Bryan 60%
Ed Bryant 0%
John Bryant 90%
Dale Bumpers 60%
Jim Bunn 50%
Jim Bunning 20%
Conrad Burns 30%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 10%
Robert Byrd 70%
Herbert Callahan 22%
Dave Camp 10%
Ben Campbell 40%
Mike Castle 40%
John Chafee 30%
Saxby Chambliss 10%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 0%
Jon Lynn Christensen 0%
Dick Chrysler 11%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 90%
Howard Coble 0%
Thomas Coburn 0%
William Cohen 33%
Ronald Coleman 100%
Barbara-Rose Collins 100%
Cardiss Collins 100%
Michael Collins 10%
Larry Combest 20%
Gary Condit 80%
Kent Conrad 60%
Wes Cooley 0%
Jerry Costello 90%
Paul Coverdell 10%
Christopher Cox 10%
Larry Craig 10%
Robert Cramer 80%
Philip Crane 0%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 40%
Barbara Cubin 10%
Randall Cunningham 11%
Alfonse D'Amato 30%
Patsy Ann Danner 90%
Thomas Daschle 70%
Thomas Davis III 20%
E. Kika de la Garza 80%
Thomas DeLay 20%
Ronald Dellums 100%
Peter Deutsch 90%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 70%
Jay Dickey 10%
Norm Dicks 90%
John Dingell 89%
Julian Dixon 90%
Chris Dodd 90%
Robert Dole 10%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 20%
Calvin Dooley 70%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 70%
Robert Dornan 10%
David Dreier 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top