or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Transportation Communications Union

1999 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
James Barcia 100%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Richard Bryan 100%
Robert Byrd 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Jerry Costello 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
Daniel Graham 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Tony Hall 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Ernest Hollings 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Ronald Klink 100%
Herb Kohl 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Tom Lantos 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
William Lipinski 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Matthew Martinez 100%
Frank Mascara 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
Alan Mollohan 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
Charles Robb 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
John Spratt, Jr. 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Ted Strickland 100%
Bart Stupak 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
James Traficant, Jr. 100%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 100%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Bob Weygand 100%
Bob Wise, Jr. 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
David Wu 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 91%
Bob Kerrey 91%
Robert Torricelli 91%
Gary Ackerman 86%
Thomas Allen 86%
Rob Andrews 86%
Brian Baird 86%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 86%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 86%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 86%
Shelley Berkley 86%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 86%
Rod Blagojevich 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 86%
Leonard Boswell 86%
Rick Boucher 86%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 86%
Eva Clayton 86%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 86%
Patsy Ann Danner 86%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 86%
Peter Deutsch 86%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 86%
Julian Dixon 86%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 86%
Chet Edwards 86%
Bob Etheridge 86%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 86%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 86%
Bob Filner 86%
Michael Patrick Forbes 86%
Harold Ford, Jr. 86%
Jonas Frost III 86%
Charlie Gonzalez 86%
Bart Gordon 86%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 86%
Baron Hill 86%
Rick Hill 86%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 86%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 86%
Thomas Holden 86%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 86%
Darlene Hooley 86%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 86%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 86%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 86%
Paul Kanjorski 86%
Gerald Kleczka 86%
John LaFalce 86%
Nicholas Lampson 86%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 86%
William Luther 86%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 86%
James Maloney 86%
Robert Matsui 86%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 86%
Karen McCarthy 86%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 86%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 86%
Michael McNulty 86%
Martin Meehan 86%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 86%
David Minge 86%
John Moakley 86%
Dennis Moore 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top