State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 13%
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 14%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 13%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 13%
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 13%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 20%
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 44%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 13%
CA State Senate-7 Mark DeSaulnier D 13%
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 13%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 13%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 13%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 13%
CA State Senate-14 Thomas Berryhill R 100%
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 13%
CA State Senate-18 Jean Fuller R 100%
CA State Senate-20 Alex Padilla D 13%
CA State Senate-22 Kevin de Leon D 14%
CA State Senate-24 Edward Hernandez D 13%
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 13%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 100%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 25%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 33%
CA State Senate-36 Joel Anderson R 88%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 94%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 13%
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 100%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 100%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 14%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 13%
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian D 13%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 100%
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. D 13%
Samuel Aanestad 100%
Anthony Adams 100%
Elaine Alquist 13%
Juan Arambula 31%
Sam Blakeslee 100%
Anna Caballero 13%
Charles Calderon 14%
Amina Carter 13%
Joe Coto 19%
Dave Cox 100%
Mike Davis 13%
Hector De La Torre 13%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 18%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 100%
Mike Eng 13%
Mike Feuer 13%
Dean Florez 7%
Warren Furutani 20%
Martin Garrick 100%
Tom Harman 100%
Mary Hayashi 13%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Christine Kehoe 14%
Fiona Ma 13%
Abel Maldonado 100%
Tony Mendoza 13%
Pedro Nava 13%
Roger Niello 100%
Jenny Oropeza 7%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 14%
Gloria Romero 13%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 13%
Mary Salas 13%
Lori Saldaña 13%
Jim Silva 100%
Cameron Smyth 100%
Jose Solorio 19%
Audra Strickland 100%
Sandré Swanson 13%
Alberto Torrico 19%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 100%
Patricia Wiggins 13%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.