Rating Group: California National Federation of Independent Business

2006 Positions on Pro-Small Business Policy

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 100
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 100
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 100
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 20
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 100
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 15
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 38
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 15
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 17
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 20
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 17
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 17
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 38
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 23
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 15
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 15
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 18
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 15
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 22
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 100
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 100
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 100
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 18
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 23
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 15
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 15
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 100
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 100
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 17
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 10
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 25
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 100
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 23
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 17
Samuel Aanestad 92
Richard Ackerman 92
Gregory Aghazarian 100
Richard Alarcón 20
Elaine Alquist 18
Juan Arambula 18
Roy Ashburn 91
James Battin 100
Patty Berg 15
Rudy Bermúdez 15
Sam Blakeslee 92
Russell Bogh 100
Charles Calderon 55
Joseph Canciamilla 50
Edward Chavez 42
Rebecca Cohn 27
Joe Coto 17
Dave Cox 92
Lynn Daucher 100
Hector De La Torre 17
Charles DeVore 100
Denise Ducheny 11
Joseph Dunn 17
Robert Dutton 92
Mervyn Dymally 15
Bill Emmerson 100
Martha Escutia 17
Liz Figueroa 17
Dean Florez 25
Dario Frommer 15
Bonnie Garcia 92
Jackie Goldberg 15
Tom Harman 100
Raymond Haynes, Jr. 100
Dennis Hollingsworth 91
Jerome Horton 23
Shirley Horton 92
Guy Houston 100
Betty Karnette 15
Richard Keene 100
Christine Kehoe 17
Johan Klehs 17
Sheila Kuehl 17
John Laird 15
Jay La Suer 100
Robert Leslie 100
Lloyd Levine 15
Sally Lieber 15
Michael Machado 33
Abel Maldonado 80
Bob Margett 92
Barbara Matthews 77
Bill Maze 100
Carole Migden 17
Cindy Montañez 15
William Phillip Morrow 100
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100
Eugene Mullin 15
Kevin Murray 18
Joseph Nation 33
Pedro Nava 17
Roger Niello 100
Fabian Núñez 15
Jenny Oropeza 9
Deborah Ortiz 20
Nicole Parra 45
Don Perata 17
George Plescia 92
Charles Poochigian 100
Keith Stuart Richman 100
Gloria Romero 17
George Runner, Jr. 88
Sharon Runner 100
Ira Ruskin 17
Lori Saldaña 15
Simón Salinas 17
Jack Scott 22
Nell Soto 10
Audra Strickland 100
Alberto Torrico 17
Van Tran 100
Thomas Umberg 17
Mike Villines 100
Edward Vincent 17

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.