Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California National Federation of Independent Business

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 100%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Richard Alarcón 0%
Deirdre Alpert 8%
Roy Ashburn 100%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 100%
James Battin 100%
Russell Bogh 100%
Debra Bowen 0%
James Brulte 100%
John Burton 0%
John Campbell III 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 0%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 0%
Edward Chavez 0%
Wesley Chesbro 0%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 0%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 100%
Rebecca Cohn 0%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Lou Correa 0%
Dave Cox 100%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Manny Diaz 0%
Joseph Dunn 0%
John Anthony Dutra 0%
Martha Escutia 0%
Liz Figueroa 0%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 0%
Dean Florez 11%
Dario Frommer 0%
Jackie Goldberg 0%
Tom Harman 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Jerome Horton Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 0%
Ross Johnson 100%
Betty Karnette 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
William Knight 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz No Party Affiliation 0%
Sheila Kuehl 0%
Jay La Suer 100%
Robert Leslie 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 0%
John Longville 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Michael Machado 11%
Ken Maddox 100%
Abel Maldonado 100%
Bob Margett 100%
Barbara Matthews 33%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 100%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Kevin Murray 0%
George Nakano 0%
Joseph Nation 0%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 0%
Thomas Oller 100%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
Deborah Ortiz 0%
Robert Pacheco 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 0%
Don Perata 0%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Sarah Reyes 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 100%
Gloria Romero 0%
Simón Salinas 0%
Jack Scott 0%
Byron Sher 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 0%
Nell Soto 0%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 0%
Darrell Steinberg 0%
Tony Strickland 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 0%
John Vasconcellos 0%
Edward Vincent 0%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 0%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
Mark Wyland 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top