or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Iowa Right to Life Committee

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
IA State House 4 Dwayne Alons Republican 100%
Jeff Angelo 100%
Rich Arnold 100%
IA State House 20 Clel Baudler Republican 100%
IA State Senate 24 Jerry Behn Republican 100%
IA State Senate 15 Dennis Black Democratic 100%
Carmine Boal 100%
IA State Senate 9 Nancy Boettger Republican 100%
Robert John Brunkhorst 100%
Danny Carroll 100%
Royd Chambers 100%
Michael Connolly 100%
IA State Senate 25 Bill Dix Republican 100%
IA State House 24 Cecil Dolecheck Republican 100%
George Eichhorn 100%
Jeffrey Elgin 100%
Mary Lou Freeman 100%
E. Thurman Gaskill 100%
IA Director of the Department of Natural Resources Charles Gipp Republican 100%
Polly Granzow 100%
IA State Senate 39 Sandy Greiner Republican 100%
Jim Hahn 100%
Clarence Hoffman 100%
IA State Senate 11 Hubert Houser Republican 100%
IA State House 3 Daniel Huseman Republican 100%
Joe Hutter 100%
Stewart Iverson, Jr. 100%
IA State Senate 50 Pam Jochum Democratic 100%
IA State Senate 1 David Johnson Republican 100%
Gerald Jones 100%
Steve Kettering 100%
John Kibbie 100%
Mark Kuhn 100%
David Lalk 100%
Jeffrey Lamberti 100%
Charles Larson, Jr. 100%
Steven Lukan 100%
O. Gene Maddox 100%
Larry McKibben 100%
Paul McKinley 100%
Dolores Mertz 100%
David Miller 100%
IA State House 99 Pat Murphy Democratic 100%
IA State House 97 Steven Olson Republican 100%
IA State House 67 Kraig Paulsen Republican 100%
John Putney 100%
Brian Quirk 100%
Scott Raecker 100%
Christopher Rants 100%
Daniel Rasmussen 100%
IA State House 8 Henry Rayhons Republican 100%
Michael Reasoner 100%
Rod Roberts 100%
IA State House 88 Tom Sands Republican 100%
Bill Schickel 100%
IA State Senate 45 Joe Seng Democratic 100%
James Seymour 100%
Paul Shomshor, Jr. 100%
IA Supervisor At-Large Doug Shull Republican 100%
Doug Struyk 100%
Kurt Swaim 100%
IA State House 55 Roger Thomas Democratic 100%
Dave Tjepkes 100%
Jodi Tymeson 100%
IA State House 54 Linda Upmeyer Republican 100%
James Van Fossen 100%
Jim Van Fossen 100%
Pat Ward 100%
John Whitaker 100%
Ron Wieck 100%
Mark Zieman 100%
Paul Bell 50%
Polly Bukta 50%
Swati Dandekar 50%
Mark Davitt 50%
Betty De Boef 50%
IA State House 21 Jack Drake Republican 50%
Eugene Fraise 50%
Marcella Frevert 50%
IA State House 81 Mary Gaskill Democratic 50%
IA State House 84 David Heaton Republican 50%
IA State Senate 33 Robert Hogg Democratic 50%
Lance Horbach 50%
IA State Senate 35 Wally Horn Democratic 50%
Geri Huser 50%
Libby Jacobs 50%
G. Willard Jenkins 50%
Keith Kreiman 50%
James Kurtenbach 50%
IA State House 85 Vicki Lensing Democratic 50%
Mary Lundby 50%
IA State House 89 Jim Lykam Democratic 50%
Kevin McCarthy 50%
IA State House 9 Helen Miller Democratic 50%
Donovan Olson 50%
IA State House 71 Mark Smith Democratic 50%
Rich Taylor 50%
IA State House 70 Todd Taylor Democratic 50%
Margaret Tinsman 50%
James Van Engelenhoven 50%
Steven Warnstadt 50%
IA State House 19 Ralph Watts Republican 50%
Roger Wendt 50%
Wesley Whitead 50%
Paul Wilderdyke 50%
IA State House 90 Cindy Winckler Democratic 50%
IA State Senate 5 Daryl Beall Democratic 0%
IA State House 62 Deborah Berry Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 43 Joe Bolkcom Democratic 0%
IA State House 87 Dennis Cohoon Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 44 Thomas Courtney Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 16 Dick Dearden Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 37 Robert Dvorsky Democratic 0%
Ed Fallon, Jr. 0%
Romaine Foege 0%
Wayne Ford 0%
IA State Senate 8 Michael Gronstal Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 17 Jack Hatch Democratic 0%
IA State House 46 Lisa Heddens Democratic 0%
IA State House 34 Bruce Hunter Democratic 0%
IA State House 74 Dave Jacoby Democratic 0%
IA State House 86 Mary Mascher Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 21 Matthew McCoy Democratic 0%
IA State House 41 Jo Oldson Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 18 Janet Petersen Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 23 Herman Quirmbach Democratic 0%
IA State Senate 27 Amanda Ragan Democratic 0%
Donald Shoultz 0%
Roger Stewart 0%
Philip Wise 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top