or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Associated Builders & Contractors

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Sue Myrick 90%
James Nussle 90%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 90%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 90%
Todd Platts 90%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 90%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 90%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 90%
Rick Santorum 90%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 90%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 90%
Christopher Shays 90%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 90%
Mark Souder 90%
Cliff Stearns 90%
Ted Stevens 90%
John Sullivan 90%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90%
David Weldon 90%
Heather Wilson 90%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 90%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 89%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 89%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
Tom Feeney 89%
Anne Northup 89%
John Shadegg 89%
John Sununu 89%
Sherwood Boehlert 80%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 80%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 80%
Jon Kyl 80%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 80%
UT U.S. House 4 Jim Matheson Democratic 80%
John McHugh 80%
Ron Paul 80%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 80%
John Sweeney 80%
Tom Tancredo 80%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 80%
Bill Young 80%
Tim Johnson 78%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 78%
Jim Saxton 78%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 78%
Mike Castle 70%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
Lincoln Davis 70%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 70%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 70%
Judd Gregg 70%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 70%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 70%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 70%
James Leach 62%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 60%
Gene Taylor 60%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 56%
Ben Nelson 56%
Arlen Specter 56%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 50%
Chet Edwards 50%
Jim Marshall 50%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 50%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 44%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 44%
Vic Snyder 44%
Rodney Alexander 40%
Max Baucus 40%
Evan Bayh 40%
Rick Boucher 40%
Edward Case 40%
Ben Chandler III 40%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 40%
Artur Davis 40%
Bart Gordon 40%
Blanche Lincoln 40%
Olympia Snowe 40%
Albert Wynn 40%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 33%
Jerry Costello 33%
Jane Harman 33%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 33%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 30%
Leonard Boswell 30%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 30%
Dennis Cardoza 30%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 30%
Hillary Clinton 30%
Kent Conrad 30%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 30%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 30%
Harold Ford, Jr. 30%
Charlie Gonzalez 30%
Darlene Hooley 30%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 30%
William Jefferson 30%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 30%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 30%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 30%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 30%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 30%
AR U.S. Senate Sr Mark Pryor Democratic 30%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 30%
Mike Ross 30%
Steve Rothman 30%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 30%
Ike Skelton 30%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 30%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 30%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 30%
Joe Lieberman 29%
Chris Dodd 22%
Byron Dorgan 22%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 22%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 22%
John Tanner 22%
Shelley Berkley 20%
Marion Berry 20%
Jeff Bingaman 20%
Robert Byrd 20%
Bob Etheridge 20%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 20%
Russ Feingold 20%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 20%
Thomas Holden 20%
Daniel Inouye 20%
James Merrill Jeffords 20%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 20%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 20%
Kendrick Meek, Sr. 20%
Brad Miller 20%
Dennis Moore 20%
Jack Murtha 20%
Earl Pomeroy 20%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 20%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 20%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 20%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 20%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 20%
John Spratt, Jr. 20%
Mel Watt 20%
David Wu 20%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 14%
Julia Carson 12%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 12%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 12%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 11%
Bob Filner 11%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 11%
Herb Kohl 11%
Frank Lautenberg 11%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 11%
Michael McNulty 11%
Martin Meehan 11%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 11%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 11%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 11%
Major Owens 11%
Donald Payne 11%
Gary Ackerman 10%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 10%
Thomas Allen 10%
Rob Andrews 10%
Joe Baca, Sr. 10%
Brian Baird 10%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 10%
Howard Berman 10%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 10%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 10%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 10%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 10%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 10%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 10%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 10%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Jon Corzine 10%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 10%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 10%
James Davis 10%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 10%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 10%
Bill Delahunt 10%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 10%
Norm Dicks 10%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top