Rating Group: Ohio Public Interest Research Group

2002 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
OH U.S. House-3 Joyce Beatty D 88%
OH U.S. House-4 Jim Jordan R 33%
OH U.S. House-5 Bob Latta R 38%
OH State House-1 Ron Amstutz R 33%
OH State House-27 Tom Brinkman, Jr. R 38%
OH State House-39 Frederick Strahorn D 63%
OH State House-45 Teresa Fedor D 63%
OH State House-48 Kirk Schuring R 38%
OH State House-59 John Boccieri D 75%
OH State House-61 Ronald Young R 38%
OH State House-77 Tim Schaffer R 38%
OH State Senate-2 Randall Gardner R 44%
OH State Senate-8 William Seitz R 38%
OH State Senate-11 Edna Brown D 50%
OH State Senate-12 Keith Faber R 38%
OH State Senate-16 James Hughes R 38%
OH State Senate-29 W. Scott Oelslager R 44%
OH State Senate-31 Jay Hottinger R 33%
OH Secretary of State Jon Husted R 38%
OH Council Member-2 Dale Miller 88%
OH Council Member-3 Dan Brady 78%
OH Council Member-At-Large Joseph Koziura 50%
OH Council Member-At-Large Daniel Sferra 63%
OH Commissioner-At-Large Thom Collier 38%
OH Commissioner-At-Large Anthony Core 38%
OH Township Committee Member-At-Large Kenneth Carano, Sr. D 63%
Dixie Allen 50%
Jeffry Armbruster 44%
James Aslanides 25%
Steve Austria 33%
Catherine Barrett 63%
Charles Blasdel II 38%
Louis Blessing, Jr. 33%
Stephen Buehrer 38%
James Callender 38%
Charles Calvert 38%
John Carey, Jr. 38%
James Carmichael 38%
Jim Carnes 44%
Gary Cates 38%
Mary Cirelli 75%
Patricia Clancy 38%
Kevin Coughlin 44%
Michael DeBose 100%
Dean DePiero 63%
Kevin DeWine 29%
Gregory DiDonato 67%
L. George Distel 63%
Steve Driehaus 63%
David Evans 38%
Diana Fessler 38%
Eric Fingerhut 89%
Larry Flowers 38%
Robert Gardner 56%
Michael Gilb 38%
David Goodman 0%
Timothy Grendell 43%
John Hagan 38%
Robert Hagan 67%
Bill Harris 33%
William Hartnett 63%
Leigh Herington 78%
Nancy Hollister 38%
James Hoops 38%
Larry Householder 38%
Jeff Jacobson 56%
Ed Jerse 63%
Gregory Jolivette 38%
Merle Grace Kearns 38%
Annie Key 63%
Sally Conway Kilbane 25%
Mark Mallory 78%
Lance Mason 100%
Jim McGregor 0%
I. Miller, Jr. 50%
Larry Mumper 33%
Scott Nein 33%
Thomas Niehaus 38%
Lynn Olman 38%
Robert Otterman 75%
Sylvester Patton, Jr. 63%
Jeanine Perry 75%
Jon Peterson 38%
C.J. Prentiss 67%
Tom Raga 38%
Chris Redfern 63%
Linda Reidelbach 38%
Steve Reinhard 38%
Jean Schmidt 25%
Michelle Schneider 38%
Derrick Seaver 50%
Arlene Setzer 38%
Geoffrey Smith 38%
Shirley Smith 63%
Robert Spada 44%
Barbara Ann Sykes 75%
James Trakas 38%
Lynn Wachtmann 33%
Shawn Webster 38%
Doug White 33%
John White 38%
John Widowfield 25%
John Willamowski 38%
Bryan Williams 38%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 63%
Larry Wolpert 38%
Claudette Woodard 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.