or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

2010 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Charles DeVore 100
Robert Dutton 100
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100
Roger Niello 100
George Runner, Jr. 100
Dennis Hollingsworth 96.9
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 96.9
Van Tran 95.4
Samuel Aanestad 95
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 94.7
Nathan Fletcher 91.6
Martin Garrick 91.1
Roy Ashburn 90.6
Tony Strickland 90.6
Bill Emmerson 90.5
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 90.4
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 90
Chris Norby 90
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 90
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 89.5
CA State Senate 14 Thomas Berryhill Republican 89.5
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 89.5
Jeff Miller 89.5
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 88.9
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 88.8
CA State Senate 21 Stephen Knight Republican 88.3
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 86.6
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 86.1
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 86.1
Audra Strickland 86.1
Mike Villines 86.1
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 86
Jim Silva 86
Bill Berryhill 85
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 84.8
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 82.3
Danny Gilmore 81.6
Sam Blakeslee 80
Tom Harman 80
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 79
Anthony Adams 77.5
Cameron Smyth 76
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 71.9
Alyson Huber 61.1
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 60
Gloria Romero 43.8
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 37.5
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 37.5
Charles Calderon 35.7
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 35.3
Denise Ducheny 34.4
Elaine Alquist 32.3
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 31.8
Dean Florez 31.3
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 29.4
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 29.4
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 27.8
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 27.3
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 26.7
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 26.3
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 26.2
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 26.1
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 25
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 25
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 25
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 25
Alberto Torrico 23.7
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 23.3
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 22.3
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 22.2
Tony Mendoza 21.4
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 21.1
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 21
Warren Furutani 21
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 20.3
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 20
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 20
Anna Caballero 20
Mike Eng 20
Christine Kehoe 20
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 20
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 20
Amina Carter 19
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 18.4
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 18.4
Fiona Ma 18.4
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 18.4
Lori Saldaña 18.1
Joe Coto 16.7
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 16.7
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 16
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 15.8
Mary Hayashi 15.8
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 15.8
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 15.2
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 15
Hector De La Torre 15
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 15
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 15
Ira Ruskin 15
Mary Salas 15
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 15
Juan Arambula 14.8
Sandré Swanson 14.3
Mike Davis 14
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 13.9
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 13.4
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 13
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 13
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 13
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 13
Pedro Nava 13
Jose Solorio 13
Mike Feuer 12.5
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 11.9

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top