or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

2009 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 100
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 100
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 99
Jim Silva 98.5
Jeff Miller 98.2
Tony Strickland 97.6
Charles DeVore 97.3
Dennis Hollingsworth 97.3
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 97.2
Audra Strickland 97
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 96.9
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 96
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 95.9
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 95.6
Van Tran 95.6
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 95.4
Sam Blakeslee 95.1
Martin Garrick 94.7
Michael Duvall 94.4
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 94
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 93.9
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 93.9
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 93.9
George Runner, Jr. 93.7
Samuel Aanestad 92.9
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 92.7
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 91.9
Nathan Fletcher 91.5
Cameron Smyth 90.6
Bill Emmerson 89.7
Robert Dutton 89
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 88.7
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 87.9
Bill Berryhill 84.9
Dave Cox 84.6
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 84.4
Danny Gilmore 82.4
Tom Harman 79.2
Roger Niello 77.2
Anthony Adams 74.5
Mike Villines 71.9
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 67.5
Roy Ashburn 66.3
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 64.9
Abel Maldonado 57.1
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 38.8
Alyson Huber 28.5
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 24.7
Juan Arambula 12.2
Denise Ducheny 8.8
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 6.5
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 2.2
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 1.9
Elaine Alquist 0
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 0
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 0
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 0
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 0
Anna Caballero 0
Charles Calderon 0
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 0
Amina Carter 0
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 0
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 0
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 0
Joe Coto 0
Mike Davis 0
Hector De La Torre 0
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 0
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0
Mike Eng 0
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 0
Mike Feuer 0
Dean Florez 0
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 0
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 0
Warren Furutani 0
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 0
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 0
Mary Hayashi 0
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 0
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 0
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 0
Christine Kehoe 0
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 0
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 0
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 0
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 0
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 0
Fiona Ma 0
Tony Mendoza 0
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 0
Pedro Nava 0
Jenny Oropeza 0
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 0
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 0
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 0
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 0
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 0
Gloria Romero 0
Ira Ruskin 0
Mary Salas 0
Lori Saldaña 0
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 0
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 0
Jose Solorio 0
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0
Sandré Swanson 0
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 0
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 0
Alberto Torrico 0
Patricia Wiggins 0
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 0
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 0
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 0

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top